Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.2/10
275 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
6
34
93
115
20

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

275 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Color: Light,copper color
Nose: Strong alcohol, raisins
Body: Whiskey like, oak, with rum ingredients - caramel
Tail: Smooth, medium-lasting
Bottle: Under average

I would recommend this one for someone who is a whiskey fan and want to try some rum. For me this is little bit similar to Pusser's 15yo, whiskey/rum cross.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by DGarfield from United States with 13 ratings

This rum I’ve gone back on forth on. I was very excited to try it and was a little disappointed with my first sip as it was much harsher than I anticipated for a rum at the price point and aging. That being said, once the bottle opened up a bit I found this to be quite great with an ice cube (I prefer rum neat however). A solid rum but for the price it’s not my favorite.

Small 20210319 183208

Posted 5 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 102 ratings

The Zafra Master Reserva 21 is a molasse rum from Panama which was supposedly stored in bourbon barrels for 21 years. The rum is produced in Column Still gets bottled with just 40% alcohol. The beautiful mahogany-coloured dark rum comes in a rather uninspired bottle, which looks rather boring and not high quality. Sugar is added. About 15g/l.

The rum is appealing in the nose and has beautiful oak and wood notes. Caramel and vanilla are there and also dried fruits such as raisins. On the palate, the rum is a good mixture of dry and sweet, fruit and seasoning. Caramel and fruit are captured by oak and vanilla. All very appealing. The finish is only medium long and is accompanied by wood, some nutmeg and barrel notes. For me the rum was a little too thin and watery. Also, the sharpness was not well integrated, even if it was not intrusive or intense.

Overall I find the rum delicious and successful, but it definitely lacks the kick. That certain extra. The body could be more full-bodied, which would certainly emphasize the existing complexity. For me, the rum is too diluted and 43% or 45% would make it so much better. What a pity. Is now my Daily Sipper.

Der Zafra Master Reserva 21 ist ein Melasse Rum aus Panama welcher angeblich echte 21 Jahre in Bourbon Fässern gelagert wurde. Der im Column Still Verfahren hergestellte Rum wird mit mageren 40% Alkohol abgefüllt. Der schöne Mahagoni farbende dunkle Rum kommt in einer eher uninspirierten Flasche , welche eher langweilig und nicht hochwertig wirkt. Es wird Zucker hinzugefügt. Ca. 15g/l.

Der Rum ist in der Nase ansprechend und hat schöne Eichen und Holznoten. Karamel und Vanille sind da und auch getrocknete Früchte wie z.b. Rosinen. Am Gaumen ist der Rum eine gute Mischung aus Trocken und Süß, Frucht und Würze. Karamel und Frucht werden von Eichenholz und Vanille eingefangen. Alles sehr ansprechend. Der Abgang ist nur mittellang und wird durch Holz, etwas Muskat und Fassnoten begleitet. Ich habe den Rum bein Trinken als etwas zu dünn und wässrig empfunden. Die Schärfe war wenig eingebunden auch wenn sie nicht aufdringlich oder intensiv war.

Insgesamt finde ich den Rum lecker und gelungen, es fehlt aber definitiv der Kick. Das gewisse Extra. Der Körper könnte vollmundiger sein, was die vorhandenen Komplexität sicherlich noch hervorheben würde. Für mich ist der Rum zu stark verdünnt und 43% oder 45% würden ihm gut tun. Schade. Ist jetzt mein Daily Sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Kevin from United States with 5 ratings

Very good Rum, highly recommend it, one of the best rums for $50

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by forgetmenotfishing from United States with 7 ratings

I explain this rum to my buddies as a scot went to Panama and perfected rum. The Nose begins with honey, raspberry and brandied cherry. Small notes of lemon tart later on. The middle palate is Very creamy. Soft caramel and milky coffee leading into brown sugar and orange peels. Some spicy black liquorice notes.
She finishes with waxy peels, cardamom and brandied cherries again. One of my all time favorite rums ever made!!!

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Gersonian (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

This bottle was gifted to me by a friend so it's free 99 price tag may be biasing my taste buds. That said, this is one of the best rums I've had. The perfect caramel color actually speaks to the flavor profile. Nice and sweet without being overbearing and the subtle hints of wood and fall fruits and spices are reminiscent of a sweeter bourbon, making it a good choice for whiskey and rum drinkers.

Now that my bottle is officially kicked in dream of the day a fresh bottle is back in my home bar.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by peter_g from United States with 5 ratings

zafra master reserve 21 presents with immediate vanilla, cane, and oak, in perfect balance. the experience is consistent on the palate in the sense that the flavor profile doesn't evolve - it simply is what it is - except to finally give way to a slightly "boozy" ethanol burn. may be drunk neat or over ice, but don't be ashamed to use it with a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Romi0 from United States with 1 rating

Minimal burn, but lack of after taste. However, the oak/nutty notes are delightful with its semi-sweet touch of molasses. It's a truly remarkable aged rum!

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by allredb from United States with 13 ratings

This rum is so different than all the other rums I have or have tasted in the past. I do like this rum. It is not sweet and seems dry, if that is even a way to describe rum. It definitely is unique in flavor and aroma. I drink it on the rocks. If you are looking for something different from most rums give it a try.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Rick from United States with 8 ratings

Finally a Rum my wife likes as well. She is a whiskey drinker and really likes Zafra. One of the few I drink on the rocks no mixing.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Seems to be a pure rum but it doesnt really jump out at me as something I want to drink. I've had an open bottle for almost 2 years. I enjoy it when I have it, just not something I seek out.