Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.2/10
281 ratings
That's some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
3
6
37
93
117
21

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

281 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Gork from United States with 12 ratings

Scored this on a whim. Ignoring the fact that the extra tall bottle had a hard time fitting in my bar.. my solution was to leave on the bar top.. THUS... it went rather quickly. Delicious. Smooth. Enjoyed Neat on a cold evening. Will enjoy again soon.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Dale from United States with 13 ratings

Great sipper, smooth. This was good transition run from bourbon, given the oakiness.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

In a market now dominated by high-art bottle shapes (and, hey, I'm a fan), don't let Zafra's simple bottle distract you. It's what's inside that counts, right? And there's a lot here for those rum drinkers whose taste bends toward whiskey.

At 21 years, this is the longest-aged rum I've tried (Ron Zacapa's 23 Year Solera a horse of a different color). As my palette matures, though, I'm starting to see this less as a numbers game and far more as the art of balance. Perhaps this rum will tip too far in the barrel-flavor direction for some people. Sadly, beyond its age, there's not much technical information out there on this rum, so we're left to sort that out on our own. I'm going to guess this rum sees significant bourbon-barrel aging - that soft/round bourbon character and long oak, with the attendant spiciness, is ever present. To me, the typical rum flavors diminish in this expression, though that's possibly a good thing these days with sweeter and sweeter rums dominating. Certainly, if you're coming from a whiskey background - especially you quality bourbon lovers - this profile is going to be a home run.

Overall, I'm giving this a high mark for thoughtfulness, and I recommend it to those looking for more barrel flavor and less abject sweetness. I suggest you look carefully for a bottle, though, prices seem to vary dramatically.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Jacob from United States with 11 ratings

Never head of this rum until a guy at the Specs store showed me. He stated that this rum was great so I looked it up on here. I noticed the high rating and bought it. I loved the rum more then I liked diplomatico.

Finished the bottle yesterday :(

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Andre from Switzerland with 36 ratings

Dieser Rum gehört zu meinen absoluten favoriten, ganz tolle Vanille- und Karamellnoten. Kein vordergründig süsser Rum, aber trotzdem ein sehr weicher und milder Rum. Schmeck auch noch nach Holz, Eiche und Rosinen, perfekt ausbalancierter Geschmack.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by rummasterpty from Panama with 7 ratings

Presentation is very nice. The aroma is higly appealing with very natural notes. The tastes are very real and strong. Nice buttery notes with excelent finished.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Rudy Mayers from Panama with 12 ratings

Very nice bottle of rum for the price. Really smooth and easy on the palate enjoyed this one a lot just happen to see it at a grocery store and pick it up. Highly recommended. One of the best Rum of Panama.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by brunolela from Italy with 2 ratings

Un rum particolare che Sara farsi ricordare, dolce ma non troppo con un finale leggermente speziato. Consigliatissimo

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

I am still looking for my second 10. This is very good, and the price is very reasonable for such a fine rum. I can nearly get a 9 out of this, but a little too much burn for me. The finish is very tasty though. You can't go wrong with this choice. Worth a try and worth every cent.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ronny Björk from Sweden with 13 ratings

Bottle An ordinary bottle
In the glass. A golden brown color that shimmers a bit of red. Smells of oak and spices but also brown sugar.
In the mouth Oak and pepper spices are the first to meet me. After a second the flavors of berries is produced . Complex!
Aftertaste Spices grabs in the aftertaste but when they have put themselves to bring up a little fruitiness up . A long aftertaste
Summary If you want a rum that is not sweet so is Zafra an excellent choice. I would imagine that it is ideal for medium strength cigar.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by IvoK from Czech Republic with 53 ratings

Color: Light,copper color
Nose: Strong alcohol, raisins
Body: Whiskey like, oak, with rum ingredients - caramel
Tail: Smooth, medium-lasting
Bottle: Under average

I would recommend this one for someone who is a whiskey fan and want to try some rum. For me this is little bit similar to Pusser's 15yo, whiskey/rum cross.