Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10 (233 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
4
31
75
97
20

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


233 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0c75984127c1ef90e82d74721a17bd5c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 88 ratings

Caramel and coffee on the nose. A full mouth feel with a lot of flavor, coffee, oak, caramel, and just a bit of sweetness and a medium finish. Pairs well with a cigar or a good steak.

7323f68f7d8afab877134bb190616bb4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Představíme si 21 let starý panamský rum Zafra Master Reserve. Pojem Zafra pochází ze španělštiny a odkazuje na období, kdy se sklízí cukrová třtina. Na českých internetových obchodech se všude můžete dočíst, že tento rum “ uvedli na trh lidé, kteří stáli u zrodu a vývoje značky Zacapa“. Zdroj této informace asi nevystopujeme, ale obchody si tuto informaci houfně kopírují, přičemž se mi nepodařilo ani na zahraničních webech zjistit nic, co by tuto informaci potvrdilo. Krom toho, že tato informace je nejspíš blud, mám z ní i dojem klamavé reklamy. Pokud máte někdo informaci, která by spojitost se Zacapou potvrdila, rád svůj názor přehodnotím. Výrobcem Zafry je firma PILSA (Proveedora Internacional De Licores S. A.) a nejvýraznější personou, která za tímto rumem skutečně stojí, je master blender Francisco “Don Pancho” Fernandez Perez, který svou kariéru začal na Kubě, kde se v 70. letech vypracoval na ředitele Kubánského nápojového průmyslu. Ve své funkci pak pomáhal školit master blendery v lihovarech v zemích bývalého východního bloku, ale i v Kanadě nebo na Madagaskaru. Osvojil si i výrobní postupy při výrobě vodky v Polsku, whisky ve Skotsku a zkušenosti získával i z evropských vinařství. Na počátku 90. let pak působil jako master blender ve firmě Varela Hermanos, což je producent známého rumu Abuelo. Po této bohaté čtyřicetileté kariéře, ve věku již důchodovém, vytvořil Zafru Master Reserve, jako svůj doposud poslední významný počin.

Při testování jsem přímo srovnával s mým oblíbencem rovněž z Panamy, Abuelem 12y.
Barva:
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Panama
Aroma: Nesmírně hluboká vůně, kde převládá káva s karamelem, a k nim se přidávají i cedrové tóny, známé z Abuela 12y. Abuelo je v aroma naladěno výš, Zafra je nejméně o 2 oktávy níž, mocnější a hřejivější. Skvělá vůně. (93 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku nečekaně nacházím jen minimální sladkost, svou suchostí mě Zafra překvapila. Dojem je těžký a přitom jemný. V dochuti se ozve opět cedr, výborně, to se mi líbí a zároveň to body vytáhlo, jinak by to za 89b. nebylo. Abuelo 12y je pro mě chuťově znatelně lepší a bohatší. (89 b)
Body: 91
Shrnutí: V přímém testu Zafra dokázala porazit Abuelo o jeden bod ve vůni, ovšem v chuti zaostala, a ani skvělá dochuť Zafry s tím už nic nenadělala. Přesto je to výborný rum, ostatně jako všechny čtyři, které jsem v minisériii testoval. Ať už se jednalo o nevšední a originální Arcane Extratoma, Zayu, která byla skvěle vyvážená, chuťově nejlepší z celé čtveřice pak Atlantico Private Cask, nebo nejlépe vonící Zafra Master Reserve, ani s jedním nešlápnete vedle a záleží na tom, co preferujete.

F7d3175f31cd02224b356ba0a37894b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

I love this rum, but just wonder if it might not be even better if it hadn't spent quite so long in wood. The complexity and dryness from the oak is very appealing, and makes a welcome change to my preferred full rich, sweet fruit. The oak does tend to dominate a little too much, but the rum is smooth and complex if lacking a little length on the finish. But overall has a sophistication that most rums just don't have.

82fded580cdf5ec7742a27d8c701f63b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 20 days ago by Romi0 from United States with 1 rating

Minimal burn, but lack of after taste. However, the oak/nutty notes are delightful with its semi-sweet touch of molasses. It's a truly remarkable aged rum!

79b08f24a6e277cccacb2485e88e1ccc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by allredb from United States with 13 ratings

This rum is so different than all the other rums I have or have tasted in the past. I do like this rum. It is not sweet and seems dry, if that is even a way to describe rum. It definitely is unique in flavor and aroma. I drink it on the rocks. If you are looking for something different from most rums give it a try.

558a005a7867fb14b50cfc30e5a472ba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by Rick from United States with 8 ratings

Finally a Rum my wife likes as well. She is a whiskey drinker and really likes Zafra. One of the few I drink on the rocks no mixing.

F1cea3399f9df2402e7f3a179c2e0a39.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 9 months ago by Erik Marum from United States with 29 ratings

Easily one of my favorites. Very smooth, with balanced caramel, vanilla, and light molasses flavors. I normally am not find of a strong or heavy molasses flavors rum but this one is exactly right. Subtley sweet, but not overpowering at all. Has a slight burn (very slight) but is a delayed warm tingle that brings out focus on the after taste. Not the longest after taste, but long enough to full enjoy the flavors it presents.

For me I sip this one neat, and it goes down sooo easy. Never added ice as for me it was never necessary and I am so happy with it neat I never had the urge to experiment.

It's a little higher than other rums ($45 Miami where I buy it) but no where near the exclusive prices. Yet, I'd take this any day and $45 for this beats any whiskey hands down in this price range.

Eb3e15f76c5a125911275346169a2404.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted at 2to2 bar 10 months ago by Carterofshadows from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

I love it full of taste with too many diferent tastet's in diferent moods

315c45f8dd5e7131cf9e869c0202035f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 12 months ago by Jason Berman from United States with 46 ratings

Absolute perfection. It has the right balance of sweet and burn. I could just smell it for hours. I had a pour of it in the BVIs and having a hard time finding it. Not sure what a bottle cost but it’s worth it.

0de57ac21f333116cebc3485bb67d97a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 152 ratings

As most rum lovers I’ve started my rum journey among the Spanish styled ron. Nowadays there are not more than around 15 left in my cabinet. The ones that still stand out are especially two brands from Panama, Zafra and Malecon. Can maybe depend on that “Don Pancho” has been involved in both. So Zafra 21 is still one of my favourites to a reasonable price. It’s complex, not extremely sweet, smooth, has rich flavours and a very nice afterburn. If it wasn’t for the Zafra 30 I should have given it a 10, but now I stop with a 9 till I have tasted my Zafra 30.
Pictures: My Panama shelf & My two Zafra’s.

09a3a3087762e0f66546100f81608e45.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by fedebelga from Belgium with 8 ratings

Now this is some very balanced premium rum, a 21 yo Panamanian master reserve. The nose: sweet, molasse (brown sugar).
The flavour reminds me a somehow of the Diplomatico reserva exclusiva, yet a bit less sweeter and more complex in taste. The finish is not so strong, a gentle light burn.
All in all, a very good rum!