Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


225 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 342 ratings

Sehr netter Rum vom Meister Fernandez.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase trocken Früchte, Karamell, etwas herbe Kräuter und ein wenig Holz.
Im Gaumen auf einem rauchigen Holzbrett geschnittene reife tropische Früchte mit Vanillepudding und Karamell-Sauce.
Im Abgang schön geschmeidig und langanhaltend, eine dezente Süsse wie bei einer zartbitter Schokolade.
Ein durchaus süffiger Rum auch für Einsteiger.
Ich finde in dieser Preisklasse den Don Pancho 18yo bedeutend besser. Hat einen voluminöseren Körper
und ist deutlich komplexer.

Very nice rum from the master Fernandez.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose dry fruit, caramel, some tart herbs and a little wood.
In the palate, on a smoky wooden board cut ripe tropical fruits with vanilla pudding and caramel sauce.
In the finish, beautifully supple and long-lasting, a subtle sweetness like a dark chocolate.
A very tasty rum also for beginners.
I find the Don Pancho 18yo much better in this price class. Has a more voluminous body and is much more complex.

Posted over 3 years ago by Nezarov from United States with 11 ratings

The nose is fragrant with some spice. When you swallow you definitely get a clear bourbon taste that only lasts for two seconds. The finish is long and very nice with flavors of vanilla and toffee. This would have probably been a perfect sipping rum if it weren't for the bourbon. On the other hand, this is maybe perfect for bourbon drinkers new to rum.

Posted over 3 years ago by Dan G from United States with 10 ratings

Was recommended to me by a friend. Very good and found it a tad nicer than Diplomatica Reserva Exclusiva. Has a little sweetness, but nice flavor and burn.

Posted about 4 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

After a glowing review here, I decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed. Quite smooth and somewhat complex, however I noticed a heavier burn on the aftertaste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Andrew from Canada with 77 ratings

Another one off the wish list; a shout out to wifey for grabbing me two bottles in South Beach.
This was on my list for years and I'll admit I had lofty expectations.

It reminds me of a cross between angostura 1824 and matusalem 15. Now I do like both of those but I guess I was expecting something different.

If I wanted to impress a buddy with an amazing 21 year old rum I would probably turn to appletons or el dorado before this one.
Still; this one is not without its charm.

Posted over 4 years ago by Erock from United States with 11 ratings

I like the bottle. It has presence on the bar. What's inside tastes dry and smokey or woody. Not sweet. Not bad. Abuelo 12 is sweeter and also Panamanian

Posted almost 5 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

This is nicely done! Smooth and delicate with a tiny burn and a mild sweetness. Perfect amount of bourbon flavor too.

Posted over 6 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

Per the reviews on this site, I picked up a bottle for about 45 bucks. The initial feeling is smooth followed by a full tongue burn that nicely lingers after you are done with your sip. Nice mellow and balanced flavors. You can taste the bourbon notes. The first sip is really wonderful. A great bottle for those who appreciate aged rum.

Posted 18 days ago by Hotvw1 from Canada with 37 ratings

It was just what you would expect from a 21 year rum. It had obvious hints of oak and caramel quite similar to other 20 year rums. I had it in Rumba in Seattle.

Posted 25 days ago by collinmaillard007 from Belgium with 31 ratings

This rum is halfway between Spanish and Jamaican style. Maybe common points with an El Dorado and a Quorhum.
Very pleasant complexity all in all.

Posted 25 days ago by JohnyBazooka from Czech Republic with 46 ratings

V celku obyčejná láhev, ale k dnešnímu dni nejlepší obsah jaký jsem zatím pil a za tu cenu není vůbec o čem mluvit.

Vůně: vyvážená, příjemná
Chuť: jemná, vyvážená, lehce sladší
Opětovná koupě: určitě ano
Cena: okolo 1400,- Kč

Posted about 1 month ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

I'm really surprised this isn't much more popular as I don't see if around often. I had to order my bottle from California if I recall. I must say a very proper bottle and well worth its cost.

Posted about 1 month ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

Very impressive Panamanian rum. Smooth to a fault. Very easy to drink. A great sipper. I liked this neat better than on ice. Balance is inspiring. Great bourbon nose. Thoroughly enjoyable. My only wish is that the finish was a bit longer. A rum this good cant last too long.

Posted about 2 months ago by JGiralt from United States with 42 ratings

A touch sweet for being such an “aged” rum but still delicious. Vanilla, oak, straw. It’s hard to believe this is actually a 21 year rum with the price point being so low (around $55 usd).

Posted 3 months ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Incredibly drinkable. Not usually fan of rums from bourbon casks, but this one is exception.

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Ok .. .

Posted 3 months ago by cK from Canada with 60 ratings

I would have given an 8.5 if I could. Very close to a 9 for me. Easy sipping rum, smooth enough for the price and not too sweet. A good rum to add to your collection.

Posted 4 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Seems to be a pure rum but it doesnt really jump out at me as something I want to drink. I've had an open bottle for almost 2 years. I enjoy it when I have it, just not something I seek out.

Posted 4 months ago by Ed O'Herlihy from Canada with 7 ratings

Was gifted this one and it's truly a treasure. I have several guests who deem this their favorite in my collection. Well-balanced, smooth, great as a mixer but that may be wasting it's potential. Enjoy it immensely with a cigar. For some reason we always want cigars when we drink this rum! It works well for those longer sessions with it's balance and smoothness.

Thanks Robin!

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 152 ratings

First impression: typical vanilla/panama rum. With an impression of agricole.
I don't like agricole flavours. It's not bad overall, but I expected more, especially for 21 years.

Smell: vanilla, caramel, tropical fruit, fermented citrus fruits (agricole), cinnemon.
Taste: cereals (sesame), caramel, burned suggar/spice, sweet vanilla, agricole

Sweetness: 3/5
Spice: 2.5/5
Fruit: 2.5/5
Mildness: 2.5/5

Posted 5 months ago by chriscathcart (PREMIUM) from Canada with 14 ratings

Tastes likeva Demerara rum to me
Is smooth and has flavor

Posted 5 months ago by Joe Tortorello (PREMIUM) from United States with 18 ratings

Light color, good aroma but taste wise, it’s a bit harsh for my palette. There are so many better ones than this. The 30 year was recommended but I couldn’t find it locally so I bought the 21 year old.
Was very disappointed for a 21 year old, found much better runs in some 12 year olds.

Posted 5 months ago by IBO from Slovakia with 97 ratings

Veľmi pekne vyvážený skôr suchý rum, zreje po bourbone. Podľa môjho názoru trošku preceňovany vzhľadom na vyššiu cenu. Každopádne každý kto ma rád suchšie rumy si pochutna

Posted 5 months ago by Neman3 from Canada with 53 ratings

I had many trips to Cuba and always enjoyed Havana Club 7 yo. Up until now I did not try anything else except Cuban rum. Once I've brought from there Santiago de Cuba 11yo and have found it so smooth and delicius compared to HC. Since then I've discovered world is full of different rums ). Had tried 12 of them so far. And I will rate them comparing to HC as the base rated 6.

Posted 5 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Frutas, especias, barrica y mucha barrica. Bien hecho como Ron y bien añejado en Bourbon.