Posting your rating...
Zafra Master Reserve 21 rum

Zafra Master Reserve 21

Panama | Aged

Zafra Master Reserve 21 is a premium rum distilled in Panama, at Las Cabras Distillery, by master blender Francisco "Don Pancho" Fernandez. The rum is made from molasses and aged in American bourbon barrels for at least 21 years.

8.3/10 (254 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
5
33
86
103
21

Rate Zafra Master Reserve 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

254 Zafra Master Reserve 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Tito Jackson from United States with 28 ratings

Per the reviews on this site, I picked up a bottle for about 45 bucks. The initial feeling is smooth followed by a full tongue burn that nicely lingers after you are done with your sip. Nice mellow and balanced flavors. You can taste the bourbon notes. The first sip is really wonderful. A great bottle for those who appreciate aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Smart choice, this rum is perfect to start a night party! Smooth, balanced, nice vanilla notes, high complex bouquet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ray from United States with 1 rating

for anyone looking for a Rum with a fine scotch feel nothing like the Zafra 21. Very smooth aged in bourbon casks. Great with cigars and extremely satisfying. Not as sweet as other aged rums which is a plus for scotch connoisseurs

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 311 ratings

Představíme si 21 let starý panamský rum Zafra Master Reserve. Pojem Zafra pochází ze španělštiny a odkazuje na období, kdy se sklízí cukrová třtina. Na českých internetových obchodech se všude můžete dočíst, že tento rum “ uvedli na trh lidé, kteří stáli u zrodu a vývoje značky Zacapa“. Zdroj této informace asi nevystopujeme, ale obchody si tuto informaci houfně kopírují, přičemž se mi nepodařilo ani na zahraničních webech zjistit nic, co by tuto informaci potvrdilo. Krom toho, že tato informace je nejspíš blud, mám z ní i dojem klamavé reklamy. Pokud máte někdo informaci, která by spojitost se Zacapou potvrdila, rád svůj názor přehodnotím. Výrobcem Zafry je firma PILSA (Proveedora Internacional De Licores S. A.) a nejvýraznější personou, která za tímto rumem skutečně stojí, je master blender Francisco “Don Pancho” Fernandez Perez, který svou kariéru začal na Kubě, kde se v 70. letech vypracoval na ředitele Kubánského nápojového průmyslu. Ve své funkci pak pomáhal školit master blendery v lihovarech v zemích bývalého východního bloku, ale i v Kanadě nebo na Madagaskaru. Osvojil si i výrobní postupy při výrobě vodky v Polsku, whisky ve Skotsku a zkušenosti získával i z evropských vinařství. Na počátku 90. let pak působil jako master blender ve firmě Varela Hermanos, což je producent známého rumu Abuelo. Po této bohaté čtyřicetileté kariéře, ve věku již důchodovém, vytvořil Zafru Master Reserve, jako svůj doposud poslední významný počin.

Při testování jsem přímo srovnával s mým oblíbencem rovněž z Panamy, Abuelem 12y.
Barva:
Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Panama
Aroma: Nesmírně hluboká vůně, kde převládá káva s karamelem, a k nim se přidávají i cedrové tóny, známé z Abuela 12y. Abuelo je v aroma naladěno výš, Zafra je nejméně o 2 oktávy níž, mocnější a hřejivější. Skvělá vůně. (93 b)
Chuť: Na jazyku nečekaně nacházím jen minimální sladkost, svou suchostí mě Zafra překvapila. Dojem je těžký a přitom jemný. V dochuti se ozve opět cedr, výborně, to se mi líbí a zároveň to body vytáhlo, jinak by to za 89b. nebylo. Abuelo 12y je pro mě chuťově znatelně lepší a bohatší. (89 b)
Body: 91
Shrnutí: V přímém testu Zafra dokázala porazit Abuelo o jeden bod ve vůni, ovšem v chuti zaostala, a ani skvělá dochuť Zafry s tím už nic nenadělala. Přesto je to výborný rum, ostatně jako všechny čtyři, které jsem v minisériii testoval. Ať už se jednalo o nevšední a originální Arcane Extratoma, Zayu, která byla skvěle vyvážená, chuťově nejlepší z celé čtveřice pak Atlantico Private Cask, nebo nejlépe vonící Zafra Master Reserve, ani s jedním nešlápnete vedle a záleží na tom, co preferujete.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

I love this rum, but just wonder if it might not be even better if it hadn't spent quite so long in wood. The complexity and dryness from the oak is very appealing, and makes a welcome change to my preferred full rich, sweet fruit. The oak does tend to dominate a little too much, but the rum is smooth and complex if lacking a little length on the finish. But overall has a sophistication that most rums just don't have.

Ffffff

Posted 16 hours ago by DGarfield from United States with 11 ratings

This rum I’ve gone back on forth on. I was very excited to try it and was a little disappointed with my first sip as it was much harsher than I anticipated for a rum at the price point and aging. That being said, once the bottle opened up a bit I found this to be quite great with an ice cube (I prefer rum neat however). A solid rum but for the price it’s not my favorite.

Small 067776ec 7856 49b2 8c45 07afe364fe9d

Posted 21 days ago by VikingXO from Denmark with 127 ratings

If you like sweet but not oversweet rums, with a good nose, bit wood and quite good semi long aftertaste. This might be the rum you seek. I prefer the 30 year over this as it has more taste and more complex in overall. With Zafra 21 you get a fine rum for a good price.

Ffffff

Posted 27 days ago by Kevin from United States with 5 ratings

Very good Rum, highly recommend it, one of the best rums for $50

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by forgetmenotfishing from United States with 7 ratings

I explain this rum to my buddies as a scot went to Panama and perfected rum. The Nose begins with honey, raspberry and brandied cherry. Small notes of lemon tart later on. The middle palate is Very creamy. Soft caramel and milky coffee leading into brown sugar and orange peels. Some spicy black liquorice notes.
She finishes with waxy peels, cardamom and brandied cherries again. One of my all time favorite rums ever made!!!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Gersonian (PREMIUM) from United States with 2 ratings

This bottle was gifted to me by a friend so it's free 99 price tag may be biasing my taste buds. That said, this is one of the best rums I've had. The perfect caramel color actually speaks to the flavor profile. Nice and sweet without being overbearing and the subtle hints of wood and fall fruits and spices are reminiscent of a sweeter bourbon, making it a good choice for whiskey and rum drinkers.

Now that my bottle is officially kicked in dream of the day a fresh bottle is back in my home bar.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by peter_g from United States with 5 ratings

zafra master reserve 21 presents with immediate vanilla, cane, and oak, in perfect balance. the experience is consistent on the palate in the sense that the flavor profile doesn't evolve - it simply is what it is - except to finally give way to a slightly "boozy" ethanol burn. may be drunk neat or over ice, but don't be ashamed to use it with a mixer.