Posting your rating...
XM Royal Gold 10-Year rum

XM Royal Gold 10-Year

Guyana | Aged

6.4/10
39 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
5
9
12
7
2

Rate XM Royal Gold 10-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

39 XM Royal Gold 10-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Morthrag from Switzerland with 93 ratings

Am Anfang noch fruchtig schwer in der nase, dann im Mund etwas bitter mit viel Holz und etwas Medizinkräuter.
Sehr charaktervoller Rum.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 5 months ago by Stefan Persson (TASTING CLUB) from Sweden with 219 ratings

Had just a sample for this tasting so it’s just a first impression, but I will not say no if someone offers me a second tasting.

This rum is produced, by Banks DIH in Guyana, or more correctly blended and bottled cause they don’t own any cane fields or stills. In the former days they bought demarera rum from DDL nowadays they buy their bulk rum from Trinidad and Barbados.
It’s aged in former bourbon casks for 10 years and then finished for 6 months in former sherry casks.
The aroma is great and in the palate it’s more than OK, but the finish is weak and quite short.
I can recognize vanilla, fruits and in the palate a nice sweetness appear.
Picture: My Emptied Sample.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 401 ratings

Of all of the XM rums from Guyana, I chose this one to add to my order to justify the long trip to acquire two stellar rums.

This one is definitely dry and the demerara notes are basically absent. It also has quite a burn going down. I am no fan of the heavily sugared El Dorados that come from the same distillery, but now I see why they add all of that sugar. Stick with the El Dorado 8 Year for the right balance of added sugar and prices from Guyana.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Harrie from Netherlands with 80 ratings

A lot of alcohol on the nose that doesn't lay down in 15 minutes. Some wood and greased leather are there too and a hint of undefined dried fruits. On the palate the wood tastes more like cedar than oak, though the tannines are clearly oak, and some spices and herbs occur. More sweetened than I like but not so much that it becomes a liquid bonbon. Though just 40% the alcohol stayes prominently present the whole time.

When a sweetened rum gets a 6 in my book I like them quite a lot....

Small download

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo (PREMIUM) from Slovakia with 264 ratings

Nothing interesting, dry wooden tannin taste of aged alcoholic beverage.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Creamy and woody notes. Fruity aroma of orange peel, honey and sweet spices.
On the first sip, toffee with bitter sweet flavor. It's then linger with nutty and creamy flavor.
Creamy finishing, with hint of citrus and sweetness of maple syrup.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 411 ratings

Ein handwerklich gut gemachter Demerara Rum.
Schönes goldenes Bernstein im Glas.
In der Nase sehr kräftig und stark, Düfte von Holz, Leder, Vanille.
Im Gaumen auch sehr kräftig, Aromen von gebranntem Karamell, Früchte mit zarte Holznoten kombiniert.
Leicht süss und sehr lecker.
Im langen Abgang zuerst etwas Schärfe dann Vanillegebäck mit Fruchtsalat.
Eine Freude Ihn zu Trinken.

A well-crafted Demerara rum.
Beautiful golden amber in the glass.
In the nose very powerful and strong, fragrances of wood, leather, vanilla.
On the palate also very strong, aromas of burnt caramel, fruits combined with delicate wood notes.
Slightly sweet and very tasty.
In the long finish first some sharpness then vanilla pastry with fruit salad.
A joy to drink.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

too young in comparison with similar El Dorado 12y. Harsher, not so round and balanced, I didn´t like so much.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by HenrikHoyer from Norway with 8 ratings

Don’t buy this
Find something better, this is crap

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Adrian Adame from Czech Republic with 361 ratings

- vůně jemná, ovocná, citrusové plody
- chuť opět jemná, částečně nasládlá, koření
Příjemný na celovečerní popíjení

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by F_a_r_a_b_a_c_k from Sweden with 28 ratings

Doftar intressant men saknar något i smaken, hade gärna fått vara lite sötare.