Posting your rating...
XM 5-Year rum

XM 5-Year

Guyana | Aged

7.0/10
7 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
1
3

Rate XM 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

7 XM 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small screen shot 2021 01 27 at 1.10.11 pm

Posted 9 months ago by Maximilliano from United States with 7 ratings

Banks XM 5-Year is hands down one of the greatest Demerara rums ever produced for the money. They used to source their marques from DDL but now buy bulk from Trinidad and Barbados. Either way, Banks DIH (Demerara Ice House) in Guyana still blend and age the way they used to back in the old days - the result is an extremely flavorful, British navy-style Demerara with the classic heavy molasses, barrel, and dried fruit notes exemplary of the style. Even at 40% ABV, the smoothness, body, and integration of flavors lasts long on the palate and proves to be extremely versatile in the mix. Reminds me of a slightly softer version of the old Pusser's Blue Label 95.5 proof 'Regulation Issue' which was one of Pusser's best blends. The Banks XM 5-Year for the money cannot be beaten. Enjoy it with cola, ginger beer, coconut water, in a Daiquiri, or in any Tiki-style concoction. The original 'DDL-marque' blend was rated a few years back (along with a Caroni) as one of the 'Greatest Rums in the World' at a prominent rum festival.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2810 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Rum XM 5y from Guyana. Decent bottle and label design. Cheap at $19 per bottle. Amber color. Plenty of oak, vanilla and alcohol to your nose and palate when neat sipped. Strong and dry burn at the end. Mix this up with your favorite soda and it's surprisingly good mixer rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomas from Czech Republic with 154 ratings

Tried this one as a blind choice and we all were very pleasantly surprised with it. Full body with decent sweetness for a great price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 77 ratings

Got it as gift - unknown brand to me,shitty looking bottle, absolutely horrible seal ( if there is no cork, you would at least expect decent "easy open", but it is pain in the ass to open it and at mastery to not cut yourself because of the cheep metal tin ). Long story short - I didn't expect anything from this. But boy was I surprised. Smooth sweetish rum ( but not too much ) with delicious smell. Very drinkable. It feels kind of heavy in the stomach - creamy, which kind of worries me, this should have been light rum and I would score even higher.

Small fb img 1621532809787

Posted over 5 years ago by Adrian from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

I tried this rum whilst on a visit to its country of origin (guyana). The captain morgan of this world doesn't come close in comparison to brand. The taste the colour, the aroma makes me want to explore other brands of the XM group.
I think I have gone up in the league of rum tasting.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by mr.wazzotic from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

Example of an average rum which is actually not so bad but there is nothing special in it.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Biggsy from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

But forever in the shadow of Dermerara Distilleries similarly aged offering. A good tasting, enjoyable rum.