Posting your rating...
Wood's 100 Old Navy rum

Rate Wood's 100 Old Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


64 Wood's 100 Old Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Current bottling, 2017:
57% ABV (the original "100 proof"). Big nose of molasses, brown sugar, and vanilla. Very sharp. Drinkable neat, but very sweet. This would be great in eggnog. 6+, 7-

1960s bottling:
Semi-sweet chocolate chip nose. Some high notes but no ethanol. Smooth yet slightly prickly palate. Has an old/musty element. Very nice. 7, 7+ for rarity?

Posted over 1 year ago by Ted from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

This has all the connections and nostalgia that rum should have. When you drink this you could imagine you are out at see, or half way around the world.

You could imaging drinking it in a warm home with friends or when it’s freezing on a rooftop bar in a European city.

It’s dark, but not overly sweet, it packs a real punch but does not destroy your taste buds.

For me this is the definition of rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Louis M from United States with 16 ratings

Closing my eyes while tasting this Rum I found it strong on the nose with a chocolate like aroma . It reminds me of a long ago dock ale house of the 18th century this is not a rum for the faint of heart but I like its strength. It is truly a Navy Dark when neat with a burn that is both pain and pleasure like a good hot sauce

Posted at The Rum Bar KL almost 3 years ago by Terence from Malaysia with 56 ratings

Rubbery and earthy on the first sniff. Follow by dark chocolate, toffee, flambe banana, jackfruit and sweet spices such as anise and clove.
Very complex on palate. woody, earthy with a touch of burned/ charred aroma flavor.
It tends to be slightly sour and salty (dried sour plum with sugar dust) and follow with sweet bitterness towards to end. It's then covered with flavor of clove and honey syrup.
Unripe banana which itch the gum on the finishing and sweet spices lingering .

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A staple diet for every British sailor was pussers and woods.
It's like mothers milk to us old uns

The perfect Rum for toasts

Posted over 1 year ago by Deezl from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Wood's is a true classic and it's easy to see why sailors were upset when the tot was stopped if this was what they were drinking. This rum is exceptional value for money and a classic, using a recipe from 1887 and distilled in the world's oldest and only wooden still. I always have a bottle of this on the shelf and it's always gone far too quickly, this is easily my favourite rum in terms of cost effectiveness.

Nose and taste are predominantly toffee, caramel, Christmas pudding and similar flavours - all very pungent and long lasting due to the higher ABV of 57% (which is always great with rum).

If you haven't tried this yet you should seek it out immediately - a fine example of navy rum and Guyanese rum, using Demerara.

Posted over 1 year ago by knocker from United Kingdom with 1 rating

This is a first class rum in my opinion with so much flavour

Posted over 1 year ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

Nose: Toffee, cinnamon, cloves and pepper spice on the nose with thick caramel notes.

Palate: Muscovado sugar, soft toffee and just a hint of the spice detected on the nose. This is very smooth, belying its hefty abv.

Finish: Surprisingly short but thick and syrupy toffee notes abound.

Overall: A rich, dark rum with a high abv that retains its smoothness. Would work well in a dark and stormy, despite the fact Wood's is distilled in Guyana, and not Bermuda.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Randomly found a rum bar in Paris and they had two different bottles of Wood's 100 Old Navy Rum. One was a regular run of the mill Wood's and the other one was bottled in 1980, so I just had to try both back-to-back. The newer version bottle and label looks boring whereas the 1980 bottle and design look properly old school. Both colors are identical, almost blackish reddish deep brown. Both have a strong engine oil and who knows what to the nose. Taste test is massively different. Regular bottle barely earns 7, whereas the 1980 bottle is much more mellow. They both have a rather strong afterburn due to 114 Proof. The 1980 earns a solid 8.

Posted about 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

I’m not a navy rum fan usually, but i do like this one. Bags of flavour.

Posted about 2 years ago by Martin Gisborne from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Great rum, found by accident in my local and loved it

Posted about 2 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 72 ratings

Surprised our Navy is so respected if they got on this before battle. Bugger me, it's lethal. But very tasty. Tried it neat and I admit I'm not man enough to do that again. Slapped some ice and pepsi in it.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Being ex Royal Navy, this is an obvious favourite of mine. One of the first rums I ever tasted, and one I always go back to. Lots of layers of flavours, and one to savour.

Posted over 2 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 28 ratings

The rum itself is very dark, almost black in the bottle, perhaps the result of aging in heavily charred barrels, but more likely a result of a liberal dose of the caramel coloring.

The nose is heavy and sweet, chocolate, a bit of cinnamon, pudding.

The palate is sweet and oaky, with smoky, slightly astringent, complex notes that gradually develop into a lasting, powerful, slightly spicy finish. Notes of cocoa, tobacco, muscavado sugar, leather, and banana. The mouthfeel is full and rounded.

This rum can be enjoyed on the rocks or with a splash of water, but excels as a mixer in Dark and Stormy, or even rum-based Old Fashioned.

Posted over 2 years ago by William Ferguson from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

First to hit you is the strength at 57% this is serious rum. After the initial strength, you get wood and earthy flavour with demerara sugar, banana, toffee, dark chocolate coming through. Complex flavours and you can drink this as a sipping drink, however I tend to favour the Cuba Libre with Pepsi Max blends into an amazing strong sipping long drink.
Not too sweet and not spiced although hints of spices are to be found.
My mixing and everyday Rum of choice, partly down to the flavour and the affordable price range.

Posted over 2 years ago by Ben from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Picked up on offer in the UK.

Off the bat there are deep toffee and caramel scents and upon further tasting the woody, smokey flavour develops. Ends with a quite surprising Christmas pudding flavour which is absolutely delightful. Very enjoyable, and made me smile a great deal.

A great choice and was impressed by the presentation and complex flavour.

Read a little about part of the rum being stilled in a 250 year old still, interesting.

Would absolutely recommend.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

Surprisingly smooth for a 57% rum, but with a warm finish, good for a winters eve

Posted about 3 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Typische Demerara rum uit Guyana. Molasses, eiken, tofee en rozijnen. Gebotteld op 57%abv maar zeer geschikt om te sippen. Goed voorbeeld van een navy rum.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bazza Bones from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Very strong tasty earthy rum my favorite one. I always mix it with a little Pepsi, just enough to get the right flavour but not enough to loose the strong taste of the rum. You need respect the strength of it as it can creep up on you and make you a little unsteady :)

Posted over 3 years ago by Shane Hadley from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Wood's is the only Demerara navy rum still bottled at 57% AB, the original strength served on British Navy ships. Strong from the start, hits you like a train and doesn't let go. Brown sugar and thick toffee notes. Not to be taken lightly

Posted almost 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

I couldn't resist getting a bottle when I saw it on offer in sainsburys £16!!!
Great taste, no way would I spoil this with coke or ice or anything else.
Full of flavour,nice aroma.
Get out there and treat yourself

Posted about 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It's 114 proof and full of flavor. Chocolate, spices, root beer...it reminds me a lot of Gosling's, another one of my favorites. Try making a Navy Grog with this rum. The result is a powerful tiki drink which is positively addictive and delicious when done right. And even though it's an overproof rum, it's not at all overpowering...which means you can sip it straight and enjoy the ride.

Posted 1 day ago by GaryGary from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

A bit of a strong flavour to drink neat for me, strong alcohol, not too sweet, bitterness.
Has enough character to come through with any mixer, I prefer it with pineapple juice or in a painkiller.
I wouldnt buy regularly, maybe once a year for a change.

Posted 4 months ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

Strong stuff, but it holds it well, with the kick not overwhelming you. Lots of caramel, toffee, oak and fruit. No wonder the British Navy loved it!