Posting your rating...
Wood's 100 Old Navy rum

Wood's 100 Old Navy

Guyana | Dark

7.2/10(71 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
7
28
14
9
5

Rate Wood's 100 Old Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

71 Wood's 100 Old Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jan-Helge Bergesen from Norway with 10 ratings

I swear -- that's the aftertaste of this one!

Unfortunately it comes with quite a punch, being 59 % VOL (used to be 60%).
I use to let it air a bit to get rid of most of the fumes before enjoying it. If not, the alcohol vapor tends to be too strong.

But the rum raisin taste.. man!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Wee Eak from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Been on the sea in the sea and under the sea most of my life and I have never found a Rum to equal this Rum. Drink it neat but carefully is the only way but let it linger on the tongue to get the full flavour.
I don't have a drinks cabinet but I always have a bottle of Woods by the side of my chair. Buy it at the local supermarket but uneasy about the price as it keeps going up wish my pension went up at the same rate.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Susieq12 from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Sorry but I did not like it at all, I like rum but this one would put me off rum completely way too strong left horrible under taste in my mouth.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Escoses from Brazil with 1 rating

This is currently my favourite rum and has been cherished by me since my first sip back in the days when I was on the High Seas during the 60's and 70's. It is a powerful, very dark, almost black colour with an intense demerara sugar nose and super smooth burnt sugar taste that lasts and lasts and warms the cockles of your heart!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by JellyJortikka from Finland with 67 ratings

Almost black navy rum from Guyana bottled at 57%
Nose: strong charred oak and blackstrap molasses, fistfull of spices, licorice and a hint of vanilla.
Taste: hits you with a strong punch of charred oak and blackstrap molasses, evolves into licorice and a hint of vanilla with a peppery and charred oak finish.
I really like this even though it doesnt really taste like a usual demerara rum from Guyana, more like a blackstrap rum but its still great stuff nonetheless and really is something different than usual mass market rums.
Im sure this rum has sugar and colouring added but in this case the sugar doesnt bother me that much, it kinda mellows the aggressive charred molasses flavor of this rum and brings nice sweetness to your tiki cocktails when mixing
Mixability is great, also makes mean dark and stormys.

Small img 20201224 wa0000

Posted 2 years ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Quite good, fairly oaky but sweet enough to balance it

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 213 ratings

Adevăratul rom de pirați.. Tare, dur dar totuși bine aromat și plăcut cu gheață

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kenneth from United Kingdom with 64 ratings

Wow, this stuff is amazing and packs a hefty alcohol punch. Yes, as everyone says, Xmas Pudding, hints of citrus, caramel, burnt toffee, dark Chocolate and it pleasantly fizzes in your mouth. An absolute explosion of flavours. and finishes with a spicy aftertaste, in a very pleasant way. Wonderful stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Adrian from United Kingdom with 23 ratings

People, this rum kicks ass!
Tried to drink it neat. Well not tried, I succeeded. Haven't a clue what happened afterwards. The label said it was from Guyana but id never heard of it before so I thought I would give it a try. I can't say it is the nicest of flavours I have ever tasted but it is definitely one to keep for the guests.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by John from United Kingdom with 12 ratings

Its a tad too powerful sipped neat add an ice cube gets better the more it melts and brings the abv down.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

Mixes well in cocktails, but not great on its own. Worth the price though.