Posting your rating...
Wood's 100 Old Navy rum

Wood's 100 Old Navy

Guyana | Dark

7.1/10 (69 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
7
28
13
8
5

Rate Wood's 100 Old Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


69 Wood's 100 Old Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Jan-Helge Bergesen from Norway with 10 ratings

I swear -- that's the aftertaste of this one!

Unfortunately it comes with quite a punch, being 59 % VOL (used to be 60%).
I use to let it air a bit to get rid of most of the fumes before enjoying it. If not, the alcohol vapor tends to be too strong.

But the rum raisin taste.. man!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Mark Ellis from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

I couldn't resist getting a bottle when I saw it on offer in sainsburys £16!!!
Great taste, no way would I spoil this with coke or ice or anything else.
Full of flavour,nice aroma.
Get out there and treat yourself

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

It's 114 proof and full of flavor. Chocolate, spices, root beer...it reminds me a lot of Gosling's, another one of my favorites. Try making a Navy Grog with this rum. The result is a powerful tiki drink which is positively addictive and delicious when done right. And even though it's an overproof rum, it's not at all overpowering...which means you can sip it straight and enjoy the ride.

Ffffff

Posted 7 days ago by Yatoss from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Big toffee flavour and suprisingly easy to drink for such a high percentage. Hefty and old school!

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 100 ratings

Well, that's the rum you take with you in a hip flask to the north pole. Or you pour it into your tea to not to freeze when there is -30 degrees Celsius. Strong molasses and sweetness, in balance with the ABV, all this almost hides its fiery nature, but your stomach will tell you it is not such a good idea to drink this neat. Unforgettable weapon of mass destruction.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Decky from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

Definitely a good winter warmer. Tastes strongly of caramel and does down smooth despite it's high percentage.

Also makes a great rum & coke.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by Fozzie500 from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

My dad has banged on about this rum for years, he was in the Royal Navy from the age of 15 until he was 23 and he always said it was the best rum he has tasted...... so i thought i better try a bottle.
Very dark coloured Rum looks like a proper traditional navy rum,it has a nice aroma when the stopper is pulled smells chocolaty and a sort of cinder toffee smell.
I tried it with coke first, and i have got to say its one of the best Rum and coke's I've ever had, how Lambs outsells this stuff i'll never know, a sweet toffee taste,a taste of raisins or sultana's.
Considering the strength it is very smooth,with a slight burnt after taste. overall very tasty rum.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Cyril Squirrel from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Purchased - yes. Price - £22.00 UK. Aroma - good. Taste - really nice but wow, strong at 57%. Very molasses tasting. Bottle - changed from above picture.....now short stumpy bottle and the 100 logo has gone.
Impressive. Would I purchase again....yes. Mainly a sipper, but a lot will need to mix this as it is powerful.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by GaryGary from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

A bit of a strong flavour to drink neat for me, strong alcohol, not too sweet, bitterness.
Has enough character to come through with any mixer, I prefer it with pineapple juice or in a painkiller.
I wouldnt buy regularly, maybe once a year for a change.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 129 ratings

Strong stuff, but it holds it well, with the kick not overwhelming you. Lots of caramel, toffee, oak and fruit. No wonder the British Navy loved it!

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by thechosen21 from United Kingdom with 24 ratings

I like the taste but this is just a bit too strong for me (62% ABV). It is delightful if you drink it with some dark chocolate, but alone is very intense. Probably not recommended to first timers. I used it as a mixer (mainly with orange juice) and I found it lovely. But I prefer sippers, and I do not think this one is.