Posting your rating...
Wood's 100 Old Navy rum

Wood's 100 Old Navy

Guyana | Dark

7.1/10 (70 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
5
7
28
14
8
5

Rate Wood's 100 Old Navy

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

70 Wood's 100 Old Navy ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Jan-Helge Bergesen from Norway with 10 ratings

I swear -- that's the aftertaste of this one!

Unfortunately it comes with quite a punch, being 59 % VOL (used to be 60%).
I use to let it air a bit to get rid of most of the fumes before enjoying it. If not, the alcohol vapor tends to be too strong.

But the rum raisin taste.. man!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

I’m not a navy rum fan usually, but i do like this one. Bags of flavour.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Gisborne from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Great rum, found by accident in my local and loved it

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris Edwards from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Being ex Royal Navy, this is an obvious favourite of mine. One of the first rums I ever tasted, and one I always go back to. Lots of layers of flavours, and one to savour.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Kamamura from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

The rum itself is very dark, almost black in the bottle, perhaps the result of aging in heavily charred barrels, but more likely a result of a liberal dose of the caramel coloring.

The nose is heavy and sweet, chocolate, a bit of cinnamon, pudding.

The palate is sweet and oaky, with smoky, slightly astringent, complex notes that gradually develop into a lasting, powerful, slightly spicy finish. Notes of cocoa, tobacco, muscavado sugar, leather, and banana. The mouthfeel is full and rounded.

This rum can be enjoyed on the rocks or with a splash of water, but excels as a mixer in Dark and Stormy, or even rum-based Old Fashioned.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by William Ferguson from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

First to hit you is the strength at 57% this is serious rum. After the initial strength, you get wood and earthy flavour with demerara sugar, banana, toffee, dark chocolate coming through. Complex flavours and you can drink this as a sipping drink, however I tend to favour the Cuba Libre with Pepsi Max blends into an amazing strong sipping long drink.
Not too sweet and not spiced although hints of spices are to be found.
My mixing and everyday Rum of choice, partly down to the flavour and the affordable price range.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Ben from United Kingdom with 1 rating

Picked up on offer in the UK.

Off the bat there are deep toffee and caramel scents and upon further tasting the woody, smokey flavour develops. Ends with a quite surprising Christmas pudding flavour which is absolutely delightful. Very enjoyable, and made me smile a great deal.

A great choice and was impressed by the presentation and complex flavour.

Read a little about part of the rum being stilled in a 250 year old still, interesting.

Would absolutely recommend.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 77 ratings

Surprisingly smooth for a 57% rum, but with a warm finish, good for a winters eve

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Typische Demerara rum uit Guyana. Molasses, eiken, tofee en rozijnen. Gebotteld op 57%abv maar zeer geschikt om te sippen. Goed voorbeeld van een navy rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bazza Bones from United Kingdom with 4 ratings

Very strong tasty earthy rum my favorite one. I always mix it with a little Pepsi, just enough to get the right flavour but not enough to loose the strong taste of the rum. You need respect the strength of it as it can creep up on you and make you a little unsteady :)

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Shane Hadley from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

Wood's is the only Demerara navy rum still bottled at 57% AB, the original strength served on British Navy ships. Strong from the start, hits you like a train and doesn't let go. Brown sugar and thick toffee notes. Not to be taken lightly