Posting your rating...
Whaler's Original Dark rum

Whaler's Original Dark

United States | Dark

6.4/10 (18 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
6
5
3
1

Rate Whaler's Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Whaler's Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 74 ratings

While exploring the Abyss of rum, I found this one to be one of the darkest of all. It does have a sweet vanilla cherry smell to it but not overpowering at all. This one didn't jump out at me one way or the other, the flavour seemed almost perfectly neutral, not sweet, not citrus, and even the alcohol doesn't burn. But beware it is lurking in the briny deep and will strike without warning. This rum is smooth and I could drink one after another on the rocks and not tire of the flavour. May end up smashed on the rocks :-)

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This rum I was not expecting much from. In fact I thought I would hate it. This is a rum I was aware of for a while. I stopped by a liquor store I never frequent after picking up some dry cleaning. I never like to leave some place without buying anything. This place made it really hard I either have and had not tried everything they had or had, or would never buy or drink it (swill). I saw this bottle and I did consider this to be on my trying list, given its history as a blend created in Hawaii. At 14.99 for 1L I decided to try it, I was in a rare mood for some Cuba Libre. I opened this bottle and I can't say I hated the Aroma of it. In fact I somewhat mildly enjoyed the aroma of this bottle at that price point I heavily enjoyed it actually. The smell almost was of bubblegum and I found my self sniffing the bottle at one point. I tried this against all advice neat first. It had some light fire in the throat but overall I was surprised and consider this a rum that could be sipped rather easily. I mixed this with coke and lime, it was excellent no complaints. This was a surprise to me. I can't rate this less than a 7 due to the price point.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Tiki Zug from United States with 1 rating

I tend to gravitate towards spiced rum. That being said I enjoyed this very much. Not to much of anything overpowering. well balanced. I like the old bottle I have better than the new one.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Bamboleo from Germany with 15 ratings

This stuff has a very nasty artificial bubble gum taste, I am quite surprised that so many people have given this good ratings.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a glass of Whaler's Original Dark Rum with my friend while road tripping through 18 states and 5,000 miles. Nice and unique bottle design but very dull and cheap looking label. Deep brown color, almost blackish. Plenty of weird and very offputting artificial flavors to the nose and palate mixed with some wood and oak. Some burn at the end, but the finish is just simply too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

I first tried this rum in Hawaii way back in 1994. My memory of it was awful, so I have ignored it every time I see it on the shelves. I walked into one store and there were all of the Whaler rums on the bottom shelf, with this one only being $15. So I thought WTF and bought it.

All I can say now is that it is slightly smoother than Myer's Dark. I gather that casks of this Hawaiian rum are now shipped to the bourbon capital of the world in Bardstown, Kentucky, which is where this is now bottled. I no longer find it disgusting, but I have had many more rums that taste a lot worse than this one. This will do well in coffee, and basically, that is all this rum is good for.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel Fishbein from United States with 1 rating

Bottle shape a bit different but otherwise identical appearance to one on this site. One liter $10 at Trader Joes, $12 at Bevmo. While sweetness is probably influencing my opinion, its a great QPR (quality to price ratio)

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Louis M from United States with 16 ratings

Wow I was expecting a deep dark rum and at sight it is nearly black but nose was very artificial vanilla and strong . The mouth was a bit sweet as well as the finish . I tried it neat and my conclusion was I had better mix it . As a mixer I found it just okay but not that bad. I would use this Rum as a party Rum as long as there is plenty of Coca Cola to subdue it’s artificial flavor. The bottle is classic but that is where I stop recommending this spirit. All in all it is passable.If it’s a sweet , earthy rum you want then you found it

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Rawlyn from United States with 6 ratings

I love the sweet yet musky burn to it!!!! The sweet flavor is almost like a molasses taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Decent dark rum, kinda falls short on the finish. Good with a splash of coke though..