Posting your rating...
Vizcaya VXOP 21 rum

Vizcaya VXOP 21

Dominican Republic | Aged

Vizcaya VXOP rum is produced from sugar cane that is distilled in small batches then aged for between 18 and 21 years in bourbon casks.

The Oliver & Oliver distillery that produces Vizcaya VXOP rum was founded by Oliver Juanillo in the 1800s. It originally operated in Cuba, but in the 1959 revolution moved to the current Dominican Republic location.

7.9/10 (142 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
8
38
49
31
11

Rate Vizcaya VXOP 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


142 Vizcaya VXOP 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Frederick Lussier from Canada with 123 ratings

Très beau rhum, sur la vanille, banane, caramel et orange. Très doux. Très belle complexité et bel équilibre. Robe très pale

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by RedBlaze6 from United States with 26 ratings

Many people make comments about this rum lacking complexity. I agree, but it tastes good. Real good. Smell is sweet but not sugary. Color and aroma are of apricot with hints of vanilla. Initial taste has alcohol on the front but quickly fades to a long lingering sweetness that is not overly sugary. I would compare this to Plantation XO minus the coconut and the.... uh.... complexity. Either way, I would drink this all day if you put it in front of me. Delicious.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Kevin from United States with 18 ratings

This is a must-try. Even a rum drinking novice can immediately tell the quality and smoothness. So smooth, you will question if it really is rum. Reccomended straight-up only. Distilled from pure sugar cane juice. Hints of vanilla, pineapple, and caramel.

Ffffff

Posted about 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

This rum delivers aromatics and flavors not dissimilar to the Trinidad rums I enjoy. But, somehow, I didn't get the complexities and richness I associate with rums in this price category. While it's beautifully presented, and will be enjoyed by those with a taste for the sweeter rums, it didn't quite live up to my expectations for an overall experience.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by thejesse from United States with 4 ratings

A wonderful sipping rum, but you can still mix it with a bit of fresh pineapple juice or a simple seltzer with a spritz of lime. This is something truly special - the kind of rum that makes people sign up for rum fanatic websites...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Robert Bahrd from Sweden with 12 ratings

I like the color and nose. The taste is nice but kind of "simple".

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 298 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Med, kůže, skořice, hřebíček, propolis. Tím propolisem mi lehce připomíná Angosturu. Ale Vizcaya je sladší, medovější. (87 b)
Chuť: Uhlazená, medově nasládlá na počátku, pak koření a zase ten propolis, jako by zase přešel do té Angostury. (87 b)
Body: 87
Shrnutí: Ochutnáno na vydařené rumové degustaci u josého v Hořicích, což byla neformální akcička domluvená na Whiskyfestivalu. Toto byl třetí panák ochutnávky, hodně se mi líbil, stylově mi sedl, možná mít celou lahev, tak půjde postupně hodnocení ještě nahoru. Kombinace medu a Angosturovské propolisovosti u mě bodovala. Snad jen ta cena je jedinou vadou na kráse tohoto dominikánského klenotu.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

Personally speaking I cannot give any rum a 10 because I do not believe a perfect rum exists. The late great Vince Lombardi once said, "Gentlemen, we are going to relentlessly chase perfection, knowing full well we will not catch it, because nothing is perfect. But we are going to relentlessly chase it, because in the process we will catch excellence. I am not remotely interested in just being good." Vizcaya VXOP is the very embodiment of that. It has caught excellence in a bottle. I normally drink rum in Coke Zero but this tastes so freakin' good that I cannot bring myself to use it in such a manner. I would be a crime to do so IMHO. I can honestly say that this is going to be my first, and thus far only, sipping-only rum. Everything about this rum (other than the bottle) screams excellence (the bottle could and should have been more ornate for such a spectacular rum). The flavor is wonderful with just a wonderful balance of sweetness and oakiness (is there such a word a "oakiness"? If not, there ought to be one). It causes a burn in the back of the throat but not a "kick-you-in-the-throat" kind of burn one gets from cheap liquor nor the harsh burn from lesser quality rums but a silky/satiny burn that slides into place only to slide away just to entice you to take another sip. If you have to buy one bottle and only one bottle of rum, at this time, this would be the one I would recommend. I reserve the right to change my mind or add to the list. [NOTE: Yes, I do realize that sugar was added to this rum. I still like it.]

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Christian from United States with 10 ratings

Overall smooth, hints of vanilla on the nose, finishes with a touch of chocolate. Has potential to be even better if it wasn't so boring.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

by far the best sipping rum around. My personal favorite. Distilled from straight sugarcane and not molasses. Very sweet but goes down so damn smooth. It warms all the way down with no burn at all. You will not find a better rum in this price range hands down.
More people need to try this immediately.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This is a good rum, with a very nice sweetness to it. It has a unique scent/spice to it that kind of reminds me of a sweet men's cologne (I wish I knew the spice). Also a small hint of bourbon, which is somewhat subdued by the spice. All in all, a very good rum.