Posting your rating...
Vizcaya VXOP 21 rum

Vizcaya VXOP rum is produced from sugar cane that is distilled in small batches then aged for between 18 and 21 years in bourbon casks.

The Oliver & Oliver distillery that produces Vizcaya VXOP rum was founded by Oliver Juanillo in the 1800s. It originally operated in Cuba, but in the 1959 revolution moved to the current Dominican Republic location.

Rate Vizcaya VXOP 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


138 Vizcaya VXOP 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Plenty of vanilla. Smells sweeter than it tastes. I like

Posted about 4 years ago by Barry de Mooij from Netherlands with 11 ratings

Nice rum but mot wat you expect. Still good to drink

Posted about 4 years ago by Marco from Netherlands with 45 ratings

I Come back from my rating on this rum. I don't know what happened but the second time i tasted it felt completely different. It is a real nice rum. smokyness, nice burn and ends a little sweet.

Posted about 4 years ago by Pat Bou from Canada with 92 ratings

Rhum smoothe à boire sur glace (mais pas trop) ou straight. Excellent pour une fin de soirée relax.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

I really enjoy this rum. I would give it a 8.5 but since that isn't available. Excellent neat or on the Rocks, don't wanna waste it with more than a splash of coke. Excellent flavor and finish. I have 100 rums in my cabinet and I can pick this one out in a blind test every time.
Well worth the $ you will spend at a reasonable practical price.

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Too much added sugar makes this rum hard to take seriously. It lacks depth. It's entry level stuff.

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Easy, with smokey oak flavours, enough sweetness and decent complexity.

Posted over 4 years ago by Carlos from United States with 24 ratings

Don’t get too excited Vizcaya’s “Cuban Formula” rum is actually made in the Dominican Republic. Is not 21 years and if you mixed is not a sin, but yes can be sipped as well. Not my favorite rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Niels Kaas from Denmark with 43 ratings

Er netop hjemkøbt. Mangler at smage på denne. Bedømmelse kommer senere

Posted over 4 years ago by Ronny Björk from Sweden with 13 ratings

Vizcaya VXOP.
The bottle:Bit rounded perfume bottle.
Glass: Light amber color. In the beginning a robust alcoholic smell but after venting in 15-20 minutes, a vanilla scent pops up.
Mouth: Here, it is very strange. Without aeration tastes much milder than aerated therefore contrary to the fragrance. The taste tighten vanilla direction a little boisterous than usual Dominican rum. It may come from the Cuban formula that is mentioned on the bottle.
Aftertaste: Butterscotch, vanilla
Summary: The thing is that I puffed on a Don Tomas cigar during the test, but I do not know how much it has affected. I like this rum it has character

Posted over 4 years ago by Martin from Czech Republic with 31 ratings

Its good rum, smooth and vanilla taste but strong finish. Beautiful bottle

Posted over 4 years ago by D from United States with 2 ratings

I find myself going back and have a second glass every time I have a drink. Sweet but not to sweet with none of that after burn.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacob from United States with 10 ratings

This is one of the top RUMS on my list by far. I love this rum and If I do not have it at the house im going straight to specs to pick me up a bottle. My fav!!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Kyle White from United States with 3 ratings

If your looking for the absolute rum, this is it, exspensive but we'll worth it an absolute great rum, would be a crime to mix

Posted over 4 years ago by Ryan W from United States with 8 ratings

One of the smoothest, easiest to drink alcoholic beverages you will find.

Posted over 4 years ago by winston from United States with 3 ratings

A nice simple tasting smooth rum. Good stuff but I would rather buy the vizcaya 12 cask for half the price.

Posted over 4 years ago by Max from United States with 10 ratings

I find myself mixing coke into this one more often than not... It is definitely a great rum, but it lacks flavor, body and punch.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacob from United States with 4 ratings

I am new to the rum game but I love this rum so much. I have tried many alcohols but I always go back to rum. Rum is my is my favorite. I am 23 years of age but can say I have almost been to all of the Caribbean islands as I travel a lot. I have had the opportunity to try many rums that are not sold in United States and ever since I tried Jamaica's JB rum that cannot be bought in America I was sold that rum is my favorite. Vizcaya is by far my favorite as I enjoy sweet smooth rums. I would buy this rum every time I run out. Every time I introduced this rum to friends and family they always asked me whats its called and add Vizcaya to their shelf. Buy it!

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacek from IE with 4 ratings

Great sugar cane juice rum. Pungent and sharp. Smells of vanilla, butterscotch an dried fruits with hint of cinnamon. Tastes of caramel apple, toasted marshmallow and maple syrup.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mikkel Nielsen from Denmark with 32 ratings

This is a good rum, the taste is real smooth and round.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

Nice bottle and nice rum. Lived up the expectations.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Dustin R. Newton from United States with 33 ratings

Very developed flavors and quality that surprised me. I don't drink it regularly, but I wouldn't turn it down. I bought it for the bottle, but was pleasantly surprised by the contents!

Posted about 5 years ago by Prter Dreier from Denmark with 18 ratings

This rum is very smooth and gentle to the drinker.
Very easy to enjoy without requirering the palette of a connoisseur.
Lacks a bit of complexity.

Posted about 5 years ago by BrotherMoose from Denmark with 12 ratings

This rum is a solid choice. It´s not very complex and the nose has just a little too much alcohol imo.
That being said, it's pretty smooth still.
Overall I would probably buy this again.

Edit: This rum grows on me. I like it better and better and has changed my rating to an 8. I just can't explain excactly why.
It has earned a permanent place in my collection.

Posted about 5 years ago by DR Rum from Dominican Republic with 8 ratings

Excellent sipping rum with sweet taste that extends beyond your first sip. Very smooth. A top rating for VXOP and top on my shelf.