Posting your rating...
Vizcaya VXOP 21 rum

Vizcaya VXOP rum is produced from sugar cane that is distilled in small batches then aged for between 18 and 21 years in bourbon casks.

The Oliver & Oliver distillery that produces Vizcaya VXOP rum was founded by Oliver Juanillo in the 1800s. It originally operated in Cuba, but in the 1959 revolution moved to the current Dominican Republic location.

Rate Vizcaya VXOP 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


138 Vizcaya VXOP 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 2 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Plenty of vanilla. Smells sweeter than it tastes. I like

Posted about 3 years ago by tomazzzo from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

Sladký a voňavý , ale .... Nekomplexní tělo , jako by chyběl obsah alkoholu nebo doba v zrání v sudu . Ale láhev má tento rum opravdu luxusní .

Posted about 3 years ago by Alzuri from United States with 7 ratings

This may be one of my favorite rums from this area. I have learned that this can not be my bench mark for judgeing all rums. The price alone made it a category all its own. This one had a beautiful silky smooth texture layered with an bitter vanilla and creamy caramel. This is an amazing rum and as I have used in numerous times as a suprise rum in my tastings it has never not been well recieved. I am not sure if whoever posted the 1rating is a rum fan.

Posted about 3 years ago by David-OC from United States with 3 ratings

After a long day at work and in most cases well into the night, I'll relax with a quality rum poured neat. The nose on first glance was exciting.... even interesting.... but the first tasting was not remarkable. The second, third tastings.... well, let's just say it started getting weird. I am not enough of a trained taster to make an in depth analysis, but I'll close by saying cotton candy and plenty of ice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jacob Darrah from United States with 16 ratings

This is one to be drank by itself, no mixers straight up or on the rocks

Posted over 3 years ago by Brandon from United States with 6 ratings

The nose is awesome, but the taste falls a little short. I'm a fan of the sweeter rums, and this one has a some sweetness, but is a little on the bland side. Hopefully the further into the bottle i get, the flavor becomes a little more complex.

Posted over 3 years ago by Florian Falch from Norway with 10 ratings

Smooth with a long taste, nice sting at the end and the nose is nice.

Posted over 3 years ago by Andrew from United States with 1 rating

the flavor and smoothness of the rum brings it to another level.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lezizmo from Belgium with 42 ratings

This is really good stuff. Not too sweet and not too rough. Excellent too close a night.

Posted over 3 years ago by John Josub from Romania with 9 ratings

Wonderful vanilla and caramel, I get a craving for it at times over other higher rated rums. Terrific.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

6.5 on my scale, but bottles aren't half full or empty here. Maybe a 7. A slight hint of molasses, maybe a bit of oak. Interesting and seems to be better early than later. More research needed.

Posted over 3 years ago by Herman (PREMIUM) from United States with 92 ratings

Paid $41.99 in NYC. The nose is nice with vanilla notes, almost like cream soda. Upon tasting, you can clearly taste the vanilla but not overpowering like Zaya. Quite smooth, delicious and worth buying again.

Posted over 3 years ago by Keith Brockmiller from United States with 26 ratings

Most liquor I've tried has required breathing time after it's poured. This is mellow straight from the bottle. I am very impressed. It's got the vanilla taste I love in rums like Zara but without the sweetness. The nose is mellow without the alcohol bite. I wouldn't dream of mixing this or even adding a cube. I've rated several runs 9 cause I thought I was too inexperienced to call it ten. Well no more. This isv10

Posted over 3 years ago by IceBear from Germany with 22 ratings

Overall a good sweet (not overly sweet) rum that is brilliant on the nose but lacks a bit of a taste. It is a bit boring in taste compared to others in its price category. I also found the finish to be rather rough.

Posted over 3 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

Really nice, maybe a bit to expensive for this tast.... medium sweet, nice Integrated alcohol, but would prefer a litter more "power" on the taste - should last longer.

Posted over 3 years ago by Co Ka from Switzerland with 82 ratings

I liked this rum, because it is kind of well of everthing. Not to sweet, but seet enough. Nice nose, good in the mouth, but not long lasting.

Posted over 3 years ago by Pandur from Austria with 73 ratings

Angenehmer Geruch, intensiver aber sehr feiner Geschmack nach Vanille...und das Sanft auf der Zunge, kaum wahrnehmbare Schärfe im Abgang. Für meinen Geschmack zu likörig, ein wenig brennen sollte hochprozentiges schon ;)

Posted almost 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 70 ratings

After reading so many good reviews I was looking forward to this one but was left somewhat disappointed. Yes, it's very smooth but after the the first taste I kept waiting for more flavors to start coming through but unfortunately they never came. Even the initial nose isn't as complex as other similarly priced rums. All in all it's a pleasant enough rum for what it is but just don't go expecting anything more.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Ric Mims from United States with 7 ratings

I just purchased my first bottle of VXOP. The front end tastes of alcohol but it finishes with a long, lingering sweetness and smoothness on the back end.

Posted almost 4 years ago by NicoB from Sweden with 29 ratings

Fantastic Rum. Aroma its caramel with a hint of fruit perfect start of tasting. Buy this one

Posted almost 4 years ago by jim from United States with 31 ratings

Very enjoyable rum, if you like sweet rums, you should like this one.

Posted almost 4 years ago by solartje from Belgium with 29 ratings

Very smooth rum.

I didn't like the nose that much , but i love the taste. I love the more commercial tastes over the agricolle and this one is very sweet. Nice aftertaste. It lacks a bit complexity

Posted almost 4 years ago by James from United States with 17 ratings

Smell: Alcoholic punch in the face that fades after waiting 1 minute. Apricot and Honey (could smell orange marmalade)

Taste: Sweet, smooth finish, warming and a slight alcoholic burn, honey and apricot with notes of vanilla.

A good introduction for people new to aged rums.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Oli973 from Switzerland with 24 ratings

One of the best value on the market.
This Rum is authentic, very balanced, sweet but not sugary...it has a lot of oak.
Stop reading reviews, just buy it !

Posted about 4 years ago by Lukas from Czech Republic with 26 ratings

the oldest in my collection. It's not a solera. Rum very terse not too spicy but delicious in taste