Posting your rating...
Vizcaya VXOP 21 rum

Vizcaya VXOP 21

Dominican Republic | Aged

Vizcaya VXOP rum is produced from sugar cane that is distilled in small batches then aged for between 18 and 21 years in bourbon casks.

The Oliver & Oliver distillery that produces Vizcaya VXOP rum was founded by Oliver Juanillo in the 1800s. It originally operated in Cuba, but in the 1959 revolution moved to the current Dominican Republic location.

7.8/10 (144 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
8
39
50
31
11

Rate Vizcaya VXOP 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

144 Vizcaya VXOP 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small img 20160116 212313

Posted over 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 85 ratings

Nice bottle and nice rum. Lived up the expectations.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 246 ratings

Though produced in the Dominican republic, it still has the classic cuban character. The body is slightly thin but with nice caramel tones, fading into wodden spicy tingles. A no nonsens rum, sharing alot of qualities with the cubaney Exquisito 21 years.

Ffffff

Posted over 7 years ago by Sakulnikov from Czech Republic with 17 ratings

Bottle: I like its shape but I do not like the label, all of the information is on the bottleneck so it is not easy to read it. On the other hand I like the simple cristal bottle with just a name on it. - 0,5/1
Colour: Nice amber
Aroma: Very nice. I smell vanilla, banana and little bit of chocolate. Overall impression is very interesting and pleasing. - 2/2
Taste: It is not agressive on the tongue. There is some banana. The rum is quiet sweet. It is fine rum but I'm lacking something complex. It is not too much better than Cask 12 - 3,5/5
Aftertaste: Very pleasent. It leaves some sweetness behind so it is pleasent rum even after the glass is finished. - 2/2

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 35 ratings

This is one of the better rums from the DR. a good entry level sipping Rum that is readily available.
Nice aroma with notes of vanilla with a simple and uncomplicated flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

This has got to be one of the Dominican Republics finest representation of fine rums. Distinctively aged using the popular solera method, Vizcaya VXOP 21 blends a nice array of various aged rums up to 21 years to provide a dynamic flavor combination for the palette with notes of caramel, vanilla, citrus and brown sugar. This is just another fine example of a fine sipping rum produced by Oliver and Oliver.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Brett Johnson from United States with 32 ratings

This rum and Plantation 20th are my go to on the rocks $40 rums. Well worth the money. Next time I have a glass I will write thorough review.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Fredrik from Denmark with 50 ratings

I cant help but be a bit annoyed by the marketing-scams, going on in the rum business. While this is a smooth, balanced, sweet, and in no way provoking rum, they just had to add 'Cask no. 21', which makes no sense other than being there to confuse newcomers to the rum-world. This rum is not 21 years old, as many newcomers might be thinking. It is not from 'cask 21' as there has simply been made way to many bottles of this, that they all could come from a single cask. This is a solera blend. Depending on the country, the number 21 means, that the blend simply has to have a small fraction of 21 year old rum in it. So what 'Cask 21' is, is simply dishonest marketing, ment to fool people.

Small earl profile picture  3

Posted over 4 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar: 28 GPL. A sweet rum from the Dominican. The caramel and oak is up front in taste and aroma, but the underlying taste of cinnamon powers right through that.
This is a fairly smooth rum without any complex taste factor, which I find is like a lot of other rums from the Dominican. It's a sipper if you want it to be, but I would classify this as a high end mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Well, this rum is diffrent, it's mature and alcoholic, woody aged flavor. Diffrent vision about aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Vizcaya VXOP 21 er en let og lys rom med god duft og smag dog lige til den søde side.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

It's really not that good honestly. It's simple beyond words. Its 85% oaky 10% vanilla and some sugar and trace other things. The bottle is nice to have in the cabinet but really it's nothing special. Honestly buy 2 bottles of brugal anejo. They taste identical except brugal has a slight less oak flavour. Drinking this straight is alright. Slight burn but nothing bad. Honestly Brugal is made in Dominican Republic and so is this. It would be no surprise to me if this was made in the same place using the same formula as brugal just in a different cask. It might be slightly less smooth than brugal anejo. But for 20$ less I would take brugal. I also could just add sugar to my brugal and it would be this at a large cost savings. I give it 8/10 because it's drinkable straight and I like the oak flavor but it's still nothing flashy. It's just good, not great, not memorable. Just good. Much like that movie you saw a month ago that was "good" but not that memorable, what was it's name again?