Posting your rating...
Vizcaya VXOP 21 rum

Vizcaya VXOP rum is produced from sugar cane that is distilled in small batches then aged for between 18 and 21 years in bourbon casks.

The Oliver & Oliver distillery that produces Vizcaya VXOP rum was founded by Oliver Juanillo in the 1800s. It originally operated in Cuba, but in the 1959 revolution moved to the current Dominican Republic location.

Rate Vizcaya VXOP 21

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


138 Vizcaya VXOP 21 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

Not terribly expensive but so wonderfully sweet. This is my favorite sipping rum. I've found it in NJ and DE.

Posted about 2 months ago by Krille_8000 from Sweden with 20 ratings

This one is really fine rum. Smells absolutely fantastic and is very smooth. Vanilla, cane butter scotch and more....
Will buy again.

Posted about 2 months ago by Stu from United States with 25 ratings

Reminds me of the 12 year from what I remember which is a good buy for the price. Very thin mouth feel and not alot going on but super smooth.

Posted 4 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

Distilled from straight sugarcane and not molasses this is a very good Rum. Nice odors when you lift the cork an a good sweet taste but it goes down so damn smooth with no burn at all. Even the price is smooth for the quality of this Rum. Just Buy It and Taste It Yourself!!

Posted 7 months ago by Arik from United States with 23 ratings

If you can find it, get it. It is inexpensive but good for the price. I would add a rock and let it open up a bit then enjoy.

Posted 9 months ago by Ron Tyaon from United States with 12 ratings

Medium color for an aged rum combining notes of cola, vanilla and light molasses. It combines sweetness with a touch of acidic bite. Well blended.

Posted at Hale Pele 11 months ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Those Cubans can make rum, too bad we can't legit import it. It's just formulas, recipies, "inspired" or you travel a lot out of the US. Delicious.

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

I think, this is good for sipping. Smooth and not too sweet. But not special one. I can find almost same flavor and taste in other Dominican rum. Body is thin and has flavor of some dried fruit and spice.

Posted about 1 year ago by Alas from Puerto Rico with 34 ratings

Solid rum good for those that like sweeter rums reminds me of centenario 30 but less caramel

Posted about 1 year ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 36 ratings

En väldigt len rom som är lätt att tycka om. Värd varje krona.

Posted about 1 year ago by Pinmann from United States with 14 ratings

Sweet with a strong but not overbearing vanilla finish.

Posted about 1 year ago by plukybrewster from Canada with 9 ratings

I love this stuff, wish we could get it in BC!! Such fond memories of sipping this in New Orleans.

Posted over 1 year ago by DucksFan16 from United States with 52 ratings

medicinal and cheap vanilla bomb. The finish was astringent and unpleasant. 70+

Posted over 1 year ago by locorican68 from United States with 24 ratings

I tried this rum for the first time a few days back, and as soon as I removed the top, I knew I was for a treat. The aroma was sweet and immediately hit the right spot. The color was as expected for an aged rum, bronze but not too dark. The taste had hints of vanilla, caramel and so smooth on the way down. I have had more expensive aged rums that are not as smooth as this one. A must have in your inventory. Nice gold color and super sweet aroma. The finish is smooth, no heat, which I think is a great end to this rum.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dimitris from Greece with 68 ratings

Taste 7,9/10. This is good drink... little bit simple profile taste but not in bad way, with some sweetness as most Oliver & Oliver rums & also a very small touch alcohol finish (maybe thats becase this has not intense flavours to cover the ethanol). Also it is smooth but with different character maybe maple taste makes it something little new....

Posted over 1 year ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Overpowering vanilla and background rancidness. Similar to Zaya 12. After some time on shelve, you can taste sea salt and lime sourness.

Posted over 1 year ago by robert75 from Czech Republic with 16 ratings

wonderful bottle, nice colour
sweet interesting smell
very, very tasty....one of the best rums i've ever drunk....
nice taste with fruits , vanilla oak and little bit of chocolate on the end....very balanced and smooth rum.

Posted almost 2 years ago by James from United States with 20 ratings

Initial sweet taste that mellows into a warm, flavorful burn. Solid rum that’s great with an ice cube.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Tom from Czech Republic with 38 ratings

and you will be not dissapointed. litle boring but after while you get use to. 80% - 73% because of the price.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Handsome Alex (PREMIUM) from United States with 87 ratings

My wife and I were first introduced to Vizcaya at the Tampa Rum Fest in 2008. Before that night we only knew rum to be something mixed into a punch or added to a cola. I've since introduced a lot of rum fans to the larger world of cane-based spirits with this and Diplomatico. Ten years later I'll still go back occasionally. It's a bit sweet for me now, but this is a great starter rum for someone looking for something beyond Cap'n and Coke. It's very light on the nose with a hint of caramel and oak. The first sip has a lot of flavor from the sweetness and the woodiness. I like it on the rocks, but it also makes a nice Rum Old Fashioned.

Posted about 2 years ago by Dave from United States with 1 rating

$23.31 @Spec's. This is just a great sipping rum! On the rocks neat, or with a little water. Even works great with coconut water! My go to rum.

Posted about 2 years ago by D. Ulriksen from Denmark with 23 ratings

Nose: citrus, berries and a hint of vanilla and marzipan

Palate: hint of fresh fruity citrus.
perfectly balanced between the sweetness and alcohol - no harsh alcohol burn

Bit pricey
I recommend leaving it for a couple of minutes, for the alcohol to vaporize.

Posted about 2 years ago by Glen from United States with 50 ratings

Plenty of vanilla. Smells sweeter than it tastes. I like

Posted about 2 years ago by Jannino from United States with 23 ratings

Subtle hints of vanilla when sniffing the glass. You can taste the vanilla as well as clove and a bit of cinnamon. Very smooth on the front with a pleasant warmth on the back end.