Posting your rating...
Vizcaya Cristal rum

Vizcaya Cristal

Dominican Republic | Light

8.0/10 (23 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
3
9
4
4

Rate Vizcaya Cristal

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 Vizcaya Cristal ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

6f2206527999794eb48db9d1834829cc.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

Oliver & Oliver know rum and if you drink this, you will too.
Seriously do some research and you'll know what I mean since the bottle only says "Cuban formula rum" and not much else, but it really doesn't need to.
Made from the original pre-revolution Cuban formula and distilled in the Dominican Republic where the environment is damn near identical.
The initial aroma warms your nostrils and the taste is so smooth and warm that this one can be drank neat.
This rum is made straight from sugarcane and not molasses like most of the others in this category, but dear lord, you can taste the difference.
Sweet, smooth, strong.
The best you can get with white rum, hands down.

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

This surpassed the Diplomatico Blanco as my favorite light rum (though I've since discovered the Banks 5 Island to be my favorite light rum). Even sweeter and smoother than Diplomatico, this has very nice notes of vanilla, sugarcane, and marshmallow. A great sipping rum! I prefer aged rum to light rum, however; hence my score isn't as high as many of the aged rums I've reviewed. But an exceptional light rum, nonetheless!

6370b8944982039a52e5fddb492629f5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

A white rum with charisma you say? Say it ain't so... Ah, but it is so!! Nose offers vanilla and marshmallow, with a bit of yellow fruit underneath. Thick entry, which is really weird to say for a white rum, but Vizcaya manages somehow. This potent little bugger comes along remarkably like vanilla ice cream, but with a certain grassiness in there. Not much, certainly far from agricole, but enough to stop this rum from being boring. On the finish you get that light vanilla bean, plus a bit of alcohol presence finally making itself known. Still, for a white rum, this is EASILY my favorite thus far! And for what this rum is, it's a complete steal at 25-30$ a bottle! Pick it up when you get the chance!!

C3abaccd6aa534da6d84010317410f46.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

This is by far the best white rum available! The aroma was slightly sweet, and it was very clean on the palate. It's a shame that more people don't carry it. Only white I can label as sipping quality.

0b057734429bd1c060fc57d14c1c9630.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by dinosaursssssss from United States with 2 ratings

A great white rum; bright and mellow and a great deal at $20. My only critique is that it's a hair too sweet. Not overwhelmingly so, but tasted alongside other rums in the same style it sticks out. Really excellent in a simple classic like a daquiri or mojito. Unfortunately it seems quite hard to find near me (MA).

D75811ab508d09a5c9536970094367a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

To be honest I love my dark rums and I never drink the white ones. After drinking the Vizcaya 21 years I saw some reviews about this crystal which triggered my curiousity. So I decided to try this one mainly because it is said that it's a sweet rum. It is indeed a sweet rum, but wayyyyy too much for me! It feels like filling your mouth with a tablespoon of sugar combined with 20 marshmellows at the same time. This is just not my cup of tea so I'll stick with my dark rums for sure!!

2ccf9cfd79e546b828d29c65c20be2a3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Bob from United States with 8 ratings

Very smooth and sweet smell and taste. I’m presently surprised and pleased.One of my top two silver favorites.

66081ffd34d7e0f9815718f1cfa3e30f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by JimS from United States with 1 rating

This Cuban Formula Rum makes the most delish daiquiris. You have to try this

9a254af7c99ea4f594a2aa07ce4485d9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

Clear Vanilla flavors, my preferred bottle to have a rum and coke with. I’m sure it’s good in more complicated cocktails but it’s powerful flavor really compliments a two ingredient such as the rum n coke.

6967c24e0b4044b2cf81c29fca0b020b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 8 months ago by scallywagg444 from United States with 20 ratings

It really has a great taste and aroma - vanilla and marshmallow are strong. I drink my rum neat, and this was a tasty treat. Maybe overly sweet, but still good. I was a skeptic because others who like this liked the Plantation 3 Star (bleh), but this was much, much better. This rum does not have that syrup-thickness to it, but it does have added (dosed) sugars (and possibly other after distillation flavors, but the vanilla tastes real to me). I'd give it a 9, but I can't with the added sugar, sorry (not sorry) rest of the world, I am holding rums to the standard of Jamaica, Martinique, Barbados where I don't like after distillation flavors added.