Posting your rating...
Vizcaya Cask 12 rum

Rate Vizcaya Cask 12

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Vizcaya Cask 12 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2575 ratings

I had a high expectation on the Vizcaya Cask 12 rum after liking their VXOP 21 for years, but this one is a long ways from the 8 rating I granted for the more matured one. Vizcaya Cask 12 is a decent rum in isolation, but compared to the older sibling, it is very unmature and has an over powering sweetness to it.

3d05c486bc00e7015b95b18181e39f32.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

I'm suspicious of rums that are "sweet and smooth" like this one, because it inevitably means they've been doctored with a ton of sugar and additives. So, yeah, you can gulp this stuff straight up without much of an afterburn, but you sacrifice any real "rum-ness". Not much character, not much depth, not much period.

B8129c3d14ab8e7e9e343c95928ed419.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jacob from United States with 10 ratings

This rum was the one that got me into this whole rum rating situation. I loved it so much that I started to try more and more rums. Great starting rum!

Bb77b04e8f100688a49601256d3693dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Glæder mig temmelig meget til at smage på denne skønhed!
I får naturligvis at vide hvad jeg mener og tænker om denne billige rom.

8d291bf9b56b449578800690faef9610.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by bill from United States with 88 ratings

Nice color and wonderful aroma. Taste is good but the aftertaste is a little bitter. I got a bottle for under $20.

3305db1568f022cc6fb1a2bc1581e992.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 month ago by rfnovo from United States with 5 ratings

This is a very good rum with great flavor. Could just be a little more "soft"

0c7e82a27a08e84862ca3846e9f38922.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 5 months ago by Elbert Bakker from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Not too far away from the Flor 18, so one to recommend

0b441dd47f79396ea37500b0253f7198.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 7 months ago by Adrian Adame (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 233 ratings

Velmi příjemný rum, jemný, chutný, milé překvapení

743c43b8811433009491c4776775a4a8.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by Luke from Czech Republic with 101 ratings

Pokud už máte dost sladkých rumů, ale nechcete vpadnout do extrémních alkoholových odérů, dřev a pláství je Vizcaya 12 ideální volba. Jemný, bez cukru, ve vůni trocha vína. Pohodových 8b.

61ed3a196a5a4359a40670104e6148e1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 310 ratings

Since my old bottle of Vizcaya VXOP Cask 21 was 2 gpl shy of being classified as a sugar bomb and I also loved the Vizcaya Cristal, this had been my missing link to Vizcaya rums until today. For only $24 per bottle, I would rate this one as a bargain. I was hoping for this one to be semi-dry, which it is not. I have no idea what the exact number of gpl for added sugar for this one is, but I can tell you that it is not quite as sweet as it's older brother VXOP Cask 21. I would estimate it to be between 22 gpl and 27 gpl of added sugar, based solely upon my own experience of documenting all of the rums that I have rated and tried. It is extremely smooth and almost as good as the VXOP 21. I would actually rate this one as the better buy between the two. With too much added sugar for both, it is difficult to tell them apart.

Update August 16, 2018: This one is not so smooth after all. I could feel it causing me indigestion with each sip that went down after only two months of opening the bottle. I wound up pouring the rest down the drain and lowering my rating. My initial guess of 22 gpl of added sugar or more was probably right and the reason for the nausea. It is supposed to be a rhum agricole, but laws in the Dominican Republic are nowhere near the same as in the French West Indies.

25afc441bf93fcc5dc69d3524b461769.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Aaron from United States with 6 ratings

One on the best rums I have tried in this price range, smooth molasses aftertaste.