Posting your rating...
Admiral Nelson's Premium Spiced rum

Rate Admiral Nelson's Premium Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


42 Admiral Nelson's Premium Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by John frederick from United States with 40 ratings

Not sure how this is even produced. Distinct metallic taste that is evident regardless of what the mixer is. Emergency use only

Posted at Tie Breakers Sports Bar 9 months ago by Wayne2ecu from United States with 1 rating

I used to drink Captain Morgan’s until I tried Admiral Nelson. It’s spicy and sweet and a heluva lot cheaper. I prefer mine with Pepsi, coke is too sweet.

Posted over 1 year ago by Daniel from United States with 5 ratings

Can’t beat around the bush on this one, the Admiral is a cheap budget rum that has the look of a generic captain Morgan. That doesn’t make this a bad rum, I would actually put it in, or very close to, the same category as Captain Morgan, which is to say it isn’t great but neither is it terrible. Vanilla is very dominant in aroma and taste, sweet, not super smooth but goes down without too harsh an aftertaste. Definitely a mixer, I personally wouldn’t recommend drinking it neat. Half gallon usually runs between $15 and $20. Would be a good choice for a party or get together you wanted to keep on the cheap.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jack from United States with 2 ratings

I agree with what others have said about the very strong and pronounced taste and scent of vanilla in this rum. For me, this really isn't a problem as I happen to love almost anything vanilla, but to someone who dislikes this flavor, this is definitely a product to avoid. Also, it isn't really that impressive to drink on its own. As a mixer, it does a great job, and for a cheaper price than the over-rated Captain will. But, really, nothing too much here. All in all, a decent rum if you're on a budget, but don't expect anything amazing.

Posted about 3 years ago by Romet from Estonia with 3 ratings

Most definitely beats captain. Affordable rum for mixing beverages. Thumbs up from me

Posted about 3 years ago by Joey from United States with 6 ratings

This is the best bang for your buck in terms of rum. It's cheap and very tolerable.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tommy T from United States with 5 ratings

For mixing into beverages this rum is perfect. Save the money on captain, go here.

Posted over 3 years ago by MericanScalawag from United States with 7 ratings

Admiral is a higher rank than captain, but in the sea of rum, it's a different story. If you're throwing a party, the admiral will do fine, six drinks in and nobody will remember their own names let alone what brand of rum you picked up. But for gatherings that involve a higher class of people than your local frat house, go with Captain.

Posted over 4 years ago by Erik from United States with 9 ratings

I started drinking this in the Marines when my paycheck didn't allow for Sailor Jerry. Pretty good bang for the buck, works good in a pinch, and I have had much worse!

Posted almost 5 years ago by Sammie from United States with 15 ratings

Admiral Nelson "Spiced" Rum is a rather bland rum. Don't get me wrong. This stuff is very smooth and easy to drink. Sweet but not too sweet. It's completely unoffensive in any way. But that is the problem too. The flavor is weak. There is not much going on besides a little vanilla. It's quite easy to sip and goes great in cola. But it doesn't add much either. Heaven Hill done a much better job with their Blackheart than this. But it's super cheap and very smooth. But if Captain Morgan is overload for you give this a try. At this price you can't lose.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

This is a low 7 high 6 but its price makes it unbeatable.
So whenever I see this bottle its on the bottom shelf even below Bacardi and captain so I always steered way away from it. But I honestly was pretty wrong. First I got the glass bottle because I heard plastic can alter the taste slightly. Opening it I was pleasantly surprised, it actually smells really good. No overpowering alcohol smell. Vanilla with some spice and sweetness of fruit . Looking at the color is about the same of bacardi gold. So I was expecting it to be harsh. It wasnt when sipping neat, its a pretty basic rum taste wise, it tasted like a more perfect captain morgan with better natural flavors. It actually makes a really good rum and coke, nothing bold that will knock your socks off but as a general rum and coke its really good. Hints of vanilla, sugar cane and cherry with no alcohol taste. If you are looking for a good buy this is by far it, very pleased and sorry I avoided this for such a long time!

Posted about 5 years ago by Rudy Tamayo from United States with 10 ratings

Smooth taste, not to overbearing and it's cheap! Excellent with cola and for shots and without question the best budget rum on the market. They could easily charge as much for this as say a Captain Morgan or Kraken

Posted over 5 years ago by chad from United States with 17 ratings

Most will Say Nelsons brand of rums are quite cheap..and they are. But!!! Thats not a bad thing. of Admiral Nelsons brand of Rums this is the best tasting. A better mixer than it is alone. If your looking to get drunk with a few friends and dont have alot of cash but want a fairly good tasting rum. This is the one to get

Posted over 5 years ago by Dave from United States with 36 ratings

picked up a liter bottle on sale at Pennsylvania State Controlled Liquor Store for $8.99 on sale. Mixed with the Mexican Coca Cola from Costco that uses real sugar. Great flavors and for the price it can't be beat.

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Actually, it's the best cheap liquor I've ever tasted and it's an outstanding value. Even here in the control state of Ohio where prices tend to be high, this is very affordable and not a bad rum. If rating quality for price, I'd give this a 10. To my taste it's rather bland with nothing distinctive about it. I tasted it along side another mild rum, Sailor Jerry, and this is even milder. I'd recommend this to anyone who's on a budget but wants a decent rum with just a hint of spice and mostly vanilla at that.

Posted over 5 years ago by lmolinajr from United States with 17 ratings

Ok im really liking this.this has more flavor than captain morgan.this has got a good amount of vanilla in it,also maybe a hint of carribean rum.try it neat or with cola.

Posted over 5 years ago by BennettP from United States with 1 rating

I absolutely love this. When im looking to keep it cheap, This is my go to. Dont mistake me calling it cheap for its quality. The only cheap thing about this rum, is its price. You get lots of flavor from this. Lots of caramel and vanilla but just enough of that spice to keep it evened out. Its Great for mixed drinks and by itself. I like it better than captain morgan! And hey at $23 its a bargain half G.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott Mitchell from United States with 4 ratings

I found this to be a smooth rum with a long leg type run. I took a nice deep wiff and found that the nose of this rum is quite nice. I did not get a hint of oak at all in this rum. I felt like i could taste a bit of tropical in it, although it could just be a combination of the spices. Overall I found this to be a very good taste and would recommend this to others.

Posted 4 months ago by Kevin from United States with 27 ratings

Great your open bar party with a lot of guests. not only because of the price but because of the flavor too. Again only a mixer.

Posted 4 months ago by Chrysostom from United States with 2 ratings

This is genuinely better than Captain Morgan's (and the Black Patch is better than Sailor Jerry's), while being significantly cheaper. It's sweet, but not overmuch, and is nicely spiced with cinnamon and vanilla predominating, but not overmuch. It's balanced, and if drank straight, has none of the fusel booziness associated with cheap liquors.

This is the most pleasantly-surprising well liquor I've ever had - enough so that I asked the bartender what she was using and then picked up a fifth for $7.

As another reviewer aptly noted: 'If I were throwing a party with a lot of guests who really don’t care as long as the drinks are good, I would bring the Admiral to the bar by the gallon.'

I drink to that.

I'm a BJCP beer judge, not a spirits taster, so take it for what it's worth. I prefer scotch and rum, and dislike vodka, gin, tequila, and most liqueurs. I like mezcal, though.

Posted 4 months ago by Skyvie from United States with 30 ratings

Very simplistic flavor. Slightly sweet & powerful vanilla flavor. Overall crappy. You can do so much better than this. Don't bother.

Posted 8 months ago by Chaarzarul from United States with 1 rating

Try it with milk. Just try it, if you need a mixer.

Posted 12 months ago by PacificSpice from United States with 16 ratings

If you handed this to me and told me it was supposed to be spiced I would tell you were lying. Too much burn for 70 proof, something I would expect from a 100 proof spirit. It's missing the spice and its a no go for me.

Posted about 1 year ago by Jason from United States with 67 ratings

Great vanilla nose, decent spice flavor, but too much of an alcohol burn. Very much like rubbing alcohol. I would use only as a mixer.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Had a rum tasting on a sunny Saturday afternoon, because why not. Admiral Nelson's Spiced Rum bottle looks very cheap and low end. Awful artificial flavor burst followed with pure alcohol to the nose and palate. Very strong burn at the end. Better skip this one for your own sanity.