Posting your rating...
Admiral Nelson's Premium Spiced rum

Admiral Nelson's Premium Spiced

United States | Spiced

5.2/10 (45 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
2
6
12
8
7
4
1
2

Rate Admiral Nelson's Premium Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


45 Admiral Nelson's Premium Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by james Ford from United States with 27 ratings

Honestly, not the worst rum around. Easy to drink, hard to taste, one step below Captain, hence the name. If you have a whole bunch of people and they all want "rum and cokes" or just want to let loose, buy it.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by littonsteve1 from United States with 15 ratings

Decent sipper when cold, better in a mix. Not the worst I have had but decent for the price.

Ffffff

Posted at Tie Breakers Sports Bar 1 year ago by Wayne2ecu from United States with 1 rating

I used to drink Captain Morgan’s until I tried Admiral Nelson. It’s spicy and sweet and a heluva lot cheaper. I prefer mine with Pepsi, coke is too sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Daniel from United States with 5 ratings

Can’t beat around the bush on this one, the Admiral is a cheap budget rum that has the look of a generic captain Morgan. That doesn’t make this a bad rum, I would actually put it in, or very close to, the same category as Captain Morgan, which is to say it isn’t great but neither is it terrible. Vanilla is very dominant in aroma and taste, sweet, not super smooth but goes down without too harsh an aftertaste. Definitely a mixer, I personally wouldn’t recommend drinking it neat. Half gallon usually runs between $15 and $20. Would be a good choice for a party or get together you wanted to keep on the cheap.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Jack from United States with 2 ratings

I agree with what others have said about the very strong and pronounced taste and scent of vanilla in this rum. For me, this really isn't a problem as I happen to love almost anything vanilla, but to someone who dislikes this flavor, this is definitely a product to avoid. Also, it isn't really that impressive to drink on its own. As a mixer, it does a great job, and for a cheaper price than the over-rated Captain will. But, really, nothing too much here. All in all, a decent rum if you're on a budget, but don't expect anything amazing.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Romet from Estonia with 3 ratings

Most definitely beats captain. Affordable rum for mixing beverages. Thumbs up from me

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Joey from United States with 6 ratings

This is the best bang for your buck in terms of rum. It's cheap and very tolerable.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tommy T from United States with 5 ratings

For mixing into beverages this rum is perfect. Save the money on captain, go here.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by MericanScalawag from United States with 7 ratings

Admiral is a higher rank than captain, but in the sea of rum, it's a different story. If you're throwing a party, the admiral will do fine, six drinks in and nobody will remember their own names let alone what brand of rum you picked up. But for gatherings that involve a higher class of people than your local frat house, go with Captain.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Erik from United States with 9 ratings

I started drinking this in the Marines when my paycheck didn't allow for Sailor Jerry. Pretty good bang for the buck, works good in a pinch, and I have had much worse!

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Sammie from United States with 15 ratings

Admiral Nelson "Spiced" Rum is a rather bland rum. Don't get me wrong. This stuff is very smooth and easy to drink. Sweet but not too sweet. It's completely unoffensive in any way. But that is the problem too. The flavor is weak. There is not much going on besides a little vanilla. It's quite easy to sip and goes great in cola. But it doesn't add much either. Heaven Hill done a much better job with their Blackheart than this. But it's super cheap and very smooth. But if Captain Morgan is overload for you give this a try. At this price you can't lose.