Posting your rating...
10 Cane Light rum

10 Cane Light

Trinidad and Tobago | Light

Romeo Light rum, a hybrid pot/column-distilled, Black Pearl Select molasses-based rum that’s bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.2/10 (91 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
13
26
35
5
4
1

Rate 10 Cane Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

91 10 Cane Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

If the term "mild" is applicable to a rum 10 Cane would wear it best. Picked up a bottle of this in the Bahamas a couple of months ago on the "cruise from hell" thinking, in my uneducated way, that this would be something to bring back that you can't get where I live. I was right about all the other rums I purchased but quite wrong about this one. Every single liquor store locally had bottles of 10 Cane on the shelf. Oh well. However that will change since apparently it is no longer being made according to multiple online sources. So if you are a fan of this rum, enjoy it while you can.

Definitely a good mixer and works well in Coke Zero. Subtle sweetness...very subtle IMHO. No noticeable aroma. The rum's color is a light yellowish hue.

UPDATE: Since this is one of the first rums I reviewed over 6 months ago and since I have learned much since then I thought I'd take another taste to see if my opinion has changed.

Nope.

Still rating it a 7. Bit of sweetness on the outset with a noticeable oak tone to it. Not much of a burn but a nice warmth in the back of the throat. That oak tone lingers quite a bit but fading to a vanilla/toffee finish. I found out it not only is aged in oak barrels but it is made from pressed cane juice as opposed to molasses. However it is blended with molasses-based rum which might explain the initial sweet nature. Definitely a good mixing rum. This rum had the potential of being great but sadly it apparently is no longer being made.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 390 ratings

Konnte diesen Rum an einem Seminar 2013 verkosten.
Wird leider seit 2015 nicht mehr hergestellt.
Sehr netter weisser Rum, gut gemacht.
In der Nase, Düfte von Birne, Zimt und Vanille.
Im Gaumen kommen dan noch süsse Zuckerrohr Aromen dazu.
Guter Mix-Rum

Could try this rum at a seminar in 2013.
Unfortunately this rum was discontinued in 2015.
Very nice white rum, well done.
In the nose, fragrances of pear, cinnamon and vanilla.
In the palate, sweet cane aromas are added.
Good mix rum

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by DAMITJOE from United States with 8 ratings

Tasty clean cane Rum, one finger neat, or two fingers with a piece of ice, a very small squeeze of lime and a generous slice of lime peel. Say three Hail Marys and consume, repeat for each decade of the Rosary. Avoid your wife, but if you happen to see and (heaven forbid), you say something to her, make sure the last round has one dash of bitters, and say an act of contrition. She won't forgive you but Our Lord will. Think of it as penance, or an indulgence.. You'll get less purgatory time.

Ffffff

Posted over 8 years ago by Naviguessor from United States with 2 ratings

....no, wait....that was 10 cane.....

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Hot_Toddy (PREMIUM) from United States with 13 ratings

What I have is not the original Trinidad 10 cane. There are some fairly pleasant attributes, but also something artificial going on here, resulting in a sweet and slightly gummy mouthfeel. Mixer only, probably won't get again.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Joe from United States with 42 ratings

Found the Trinidad version in a variety store for $20. Bought 3. Drank 2 immediately. Excellent all around rum. I feel like I found gold.

Small 310ba019 0ca0 4200 8756 cbdeaeddc8f5

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 232 ratings

I’m not a big white rum or white wine drinker, but enjoyed this a few summers ago with lime neat and with soda water Reminded my of La Mauny from Martinique, very easy to drink and nice botanical flavors.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by RummyDog from Canada with 27 ratings

10 Cane from Trinidad. #141 of 500. It's been a while, haven't had any new Rum to review. Well, 10 Cane is a very soft Rum on the nose, a very subtle Rum bouquet with a hint of Vodka, and a little flowery. On the pallet you first sense vanilla, then caramel, notes of orange and only a slight bitterness. There's a noticeable pepper in the mouth, but not overwhelming. On the throat it's very clean, it disappears, in contrast to the pepper you sense in the mouth. A nice Rum indeed. 8 out of 10. Straight up, Yum

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Docsarvis (PREMIUM) from United States with 199 ratings

Not at all complex. Not smooth. The "bite" is much to forward. A little vanilla and orange in there but not enough. Unbalanced. Poor finish. Not a sipper. Might make a very good mixer but you can get those for less money.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by JeffBuck from United States with 80 ratings

Not overly complex but also how alcohol burn/flavor

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kuinn from United States with 2 ratings

Use it mainly for mix. Not my favorite for sipping.