Posting your rating...
10 Cane Light rum

10 Cane Light

Trinidad and Tobago | Light

Romeo Light rum, a hybrid pot/column-distilled, Black Pearl Select molasses-based rum that’s bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.2/10
92 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
13
26
36
5
4
1

Rate 10 Cane Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

92 10 Cane Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

If the term "mild" is applicable to a rum 10 Cane would wear it best. Picked up a bottle of this in the Bahamas a couple of months ago on the "cruise from hell" thinking, in my uneducated way, that this would be something to bring back that you can't get where I live. I was right about all the other rums I purchased but quite wrong about this one. Every single liquor store locally had bottles of 10 Cane on the shelf. Oh well. However that will change since apparently it is no longer being made according to multiple online sources. So if you are a fan of this rum, enjoy it while you can.

Definitely a good mixer and works well in Coke Zero. Subtle sweetness...very subtle IMHO. No noticeable aroma. The rum's color is a light yellowish hue.

UPDATE: Since this is one of the first rums I reviewed over 6 months ago and since I have learned much since then I thought I'd take another taste to see if my opinion has changed.

Nope.

Still rating it a 7. Bit of sweetness on the outset with a noticeable oak tone to it. Not much of a burn but a nice warmth in the back of the throat. That oak tone lingers quite a bit but fading to a vanilla/toffee finish. I found out it not only is aged in oak barrels but it is made from pressed cane juice as opposed to molasses. However it is blended with molasses-based rum which might explain the initial sweet nature. Definitely a good mixing rum. This rum had the potential of being great but sadly it apparently is no longer being made.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

This is an interesting blend of 90% agricole and 10% molasses rums. Good as a better quality mixing rum, perhaps a little too simple for a sipper.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This review is for the Barbados bottling. This bottling is quite smooth overall. I did not detect much sweetness on this but rather just a clean rum experience. There are many better rums out there for flavor but this is a clean rum without many edges.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The nose is light and runs between ethanol and aceton with a hint of rum.
The taste is sugar and alcohol. Which finishes in raisins. It´s a fun sipping rum and i think it will make one hell of a mojito.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by TDR24 from United States with 3 ratings

You can certainly smell the sugar when you pop this one open. I like my rum on the rocks, granite rocks, so as not to dilute the taste. Not the best I've had, but not the worst for sure. I like it in place of desert - it's that sweet.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Rhum équilibré, semble un peu trop sec au début mais la bouche s'y habitue pour devenir agréable. Arôme de vanille

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Thomas Prehn from Denmark with 1 rating

This rum is not expensive, so if I should take the price element into account I would actually give it 8.

I like the smooth taste with the hints of vanilla with a finish of sweet oak. Definitely a good non aged rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

find it ok for mixing. Will do in a pinch but why a premium for it at the bar?

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

I'd describe the flavor as smooth and similar to a very light Jamaican rum. I enjoyed this both straight and then in a rum and tonic. Have to agree with others that at full price it seems a bit pricy although I found a 200 ml. bottle on sale and gave it a try I was not disappointed. Would recommend for drinks when a light to moderate rum flavor is wanted.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

It's either, I was having a bad day or the 40% alcohol (80 proof) they write on the bottle is a misprint. From the looks of some of these other reviews, probably the latter is true. Anyway, I have had 10 Cane straight up, on the rocks, in a daiquiri, in a mojito and six ways to Sunday, but I always feel the same about it. Marketing won't make this rum taste better, only lime, simple syrup and ice.

Even though it's made by Moet Hennessy and they portray it in ads with Trinidadians hanging out on boats dancing to slow jams, it doesn't taste easy or fun. It could definitely be smoother, and more complex given the relationship. It's one of the few gold rums (of which I haven't had many, so I can't compare), but Trinidad has better rums. Do yourself a favor, and only buy this if you want to get tipsy on a rum in the $20 to $25 range; otherwise, buy a bottle of rhum from the French West Indies to get that cognac taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Ok rum for mixing. Better choice than other over priced mas produced rum.