Posting your rating...
10 Cane Light rum

10 Cane Light

Trinidad and Tobago | Light

Romeo Light rum, a hybrid pot/column-distilled, Black Pearl Select molasses-based rum that’s bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.2/10
92 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
13
26
36
5
4
1

Rate 10 Cane Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

92 10 Cane Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

If the term "mild" is applicable to a rum 10 Cane would wear it best. Picked up a bottle of this in the Bahamas a couple of months ago on the "cruise from hell" thinking, in my uneducated way, that this would be something to bring back that you can't get where I live. I was right about all the other rums I purchased but quite wrong about this one. Every single liquor store locally had bottles of 10 Cane on the shelf. Oh well. However that will change since apparently it is no longer being made according to multiple online sources. So if you are a fan of this rum, enjoy it while you can.

Definitely a good mixer and works well in Coke Zero. Subtle sweetness...very subtle IMHO. No noticeable aroma. The rum's color is a light yellowish hue.

UPDATE: Since this is one of the first rums I reviewed over 6 months ago and since I have learned much since then I thought I'd take another taste to see if my opinion has changed.

Nope.

Still rating it a 7. Bit of sweetness on the outset with a noticeable oak tone to it. Not much of a burn but a nice warmth in the back of the throat. That oak tone lingers quite a bit but fading to a vanilla/toffee finish. I found out it not only is aged in oak barrels but it is made from pressed cane juice as opposed to molasses. However it is blended with molasses-based rum which might explain the initial sweet nature. Definitely a good mixing rum. This rum had the potential of being great but sadly it apparently is no longer being made.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

This is an incredibly simple review because there is nothing complicated about this one. It smells like alcohol, vanilla and faint oak. That's about as basic white rum it gets. Tastes like.... basic white rum, vanilla and alcohol with some hint of oak on the plus of this is there is no bite with this one. It's as simple as it gets, however the 29$ a fifth price turns me away from this. I will stick to Appleton estate white which is about 10$ a fifth and identical to this.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Slightly grassy almost agricole style rum.

Interesting more than brilliant

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by tang from United States with 10 ratings

I had some straight up, but I imagine it'd be very good in, say, a mojito or something.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 69 ratings

Sometimes the time, place or stress of the day can define one's liking for a rum and this maybe the case for me. I thought 10 Cane in Diet Coke was sweet and easily consumed leading to a fun time for all.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

not a fan of light rums but this one does exeed my expectation

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Definitely not a sipper! It added a new layer of flavor to my Cuba Libra that was more developed than a Bacardi Gold, not sure if I could justify this as my mixer rum on a regular basis, will stick to my Don Q Crystal for that. My rating of 8 is based on it next to other mixing rums only!

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Rum of choice for Mojito at Royal Pacific Resort. Tasty but pricey.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

the bottle and a steep price ($35 for a fifth) prepare you for something extraordinary. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. Light and smooth, but too simple, not enough depth. No mystique, no depth, no drama.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

It wasn't bad in Coke. I would not drink it straight, though.

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

This is not a dark or white and has a very unique taste. Not sweet, firm on the tongue, and not all that smooth, but I still enjoy 10 Cane for an average Cuba Libre. The bottle is also unique.