Posting your rating...
10 Cane Light rum

Romeo Light rum, a hybrid pot/column-distilled, Black Pearl Select molasses-based rum that’s bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report

Rate 10 Cane Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


87 10 Cane Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

It's either, I was having a bad day or the 40% alcohol (80 proof) they write on the bottle is a misprint. From the looks of some of these other reviews, probably the latter is true. Anyway, I have had 10 Cane straight up, on the rocks, in a daiquiri, in a mojito and six ways to Sunday, but I always feel the same about it. Marketing won't make this rum taste better, only lime, simple syrup and ice.

Even though it's made by Moet Hennessy and they portray it in ads with Trinidadians hanging out on boats dancing to slow jams, it doesn't taste easy or fun. It could definitely be smoother, and more complex given the relationship. It's one of the few gold rums (of which I haven't had many, so I can't compare), but Trinidad has better rums. Do yourself a favor, and only buy this if you want to get tipsy on a rum in the $20 to $25 range; otherwise, buy a bottle of rhum from the French West Indies to get that cognac taste.

Posted over 6 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

This rum is really different than any other rums I've had. It's not really dark or light enough to go with cola (for example, either Kraken or Bacardi). It's pretty good on the rocks since it has soooo much flavor. There's definitely a lot going on. It's a little vanilla-y, a little oak-y, and almost a little herb-y. It's not as smooth and it's a little harsh, which makes me think it would go well in a really nice cocktail.

Posted almost 7 years ago by rhum boogie from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

not the best for sipping, it works well in a mix, slightly yellow rather than gold, once swallowed it's gone without leaving much in the way of taste, non the less drinkable.

Posted about 7 years ago by JJ Geewax from United States with 36 ratings

Smooth and easy.

Posted about 7 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

I'd been looking for an everyday Trini rum. I love my Angostura 1919, but I've been hoping for something to drink casually. Found this one on sale and, only too late, realized it is an entirely different category than the fine 1919. Do you need a gold rum for mixing in quality drinks? This is your bottle.

Posted about 7 years ago by Brandon from United States with 18 ratings

As the song goes: It's fresh, fresh, exciting. It's so exciting to me. Fresh and lovely, like a dream come true. I'd do anything to spend the night with you. Um... maybe not the last part. It's nice in drinks when you don't want a prominent rum flavor, since this leans towards light and clean.

Posted about 7 years ago by SaltwaterTom from United States with 20 ratings

One of the finest light rums I have ever had, hands down.

Posted over 7 years ago by Dan Freeman from United States with 15 ratings

A go-to for rum and cokes at airports, usually the only brand available there beyond the usual big name brands

Posted over 7 years ago by Skulman from United States with 117 ratings

Has a slight bitter flavor to me.

Posted over 7 years ago by Don Tucker from United States with 194 ratings

This is a very good light rum. I started drinking it straight, but find it very good for mojitos or anything that calls for a light rum.

Posted over 7 years ago by John from United States with 2 ratings

Excellent rum for a daiquiri

Posted over 7 years ago by Robert Burr from United States with 7 ratings

A good choice for daiquiris and punch. Made from select first press cane juice, aged up to 6 months in oak, this premium white rum is double distilled for an uncommonly light and smooth flavor, produced by one of the great French distillers.

Posted over 7 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

but has some rough edges. Adds interesting flavors to mixed drinks.

Posted over 7 years ago by Daniel from United States with 29 ratings

It's mellow and clean.

Posted over 7 years ago by Nick from United States with 54 ratings

Adds a nice change to the basic mojito without adding fruit

Posted over 7 years ago by chango from United States with 4 ratings

A nice enough light rum for mojitos and daquiris and such.