Posting your rating...
10 Cane Light rum

10 Cane Light

Trinidad and Tobago | Light

Romeo Light rum, a hybrid pot/column-distilled, Black Pearl Select molasses-based rum that’s bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.2/10
92 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
13
26
36
5
4
1

Rate 10 Cane Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

92 10 Cane Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

If the term "mild" is applicable to a rum 10 Cane would wear it best. Picked up a bottle of this in the Bahamas a couple of months ago on the "cruise from hell" thinking, in my uneducated way, that this would be something to bring back that you can't get where I live. I was right about all the other rums I purchased but quite wrong about this one. Every single liquor store locally had bottles of 10 Cane on the shelf. Oh well. However that will change since apparently it is no longer being made according to multiple online sources. So if you are a fan of this rum, enjoy it while you can.

Definitely a good mixer and works well in Coke Zero. Subtle sweetness...very subtle IMHO. No noticeable aroma. The rum's color is a light yellowish hue.

UPDATE: Since this is one of the first rums I reviewed over 6 months ago and since I have learned much since then I thought I'd take another taste to see if my opinion has changed.

Nope.

Still rating it a 7. Bit of sweetness on the outset with a noticeable oak tone to it. Not much of a burn but a nice warmth in the back of the throat. That oak tone lingers quite a bit but fading to a vanilla/toffee finish. I found out it not only is aged in oak barrels but it is made from pressed cane juice as opposed to molasses. However it is blended with molasses-based rum which might explain the initial sweet nature. Definitely a good mixing rum. This rum had the potential of being great but sadly it apparently is no longer being made.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Definitely better than your run of the mill white rums, but I will take Beach Bar over this any day.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

But probably too expensive for what it is. Higher-end mixed drinks.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 325 ratings

Being a cane rum, I expected this to be more like rhum agricole—it's not. In fact, it's rather sweet. I'm not sure whether to use this as a light, gold, agricole, or sipping rum... it can do a bit of each, but for me it falls somewhere between a light and sweeter gold rum.

As others have mentioned, it's a bit pricey, but it's also challenging to find decent light rums at most liquor stores. It's not a big stand-out (aside from the bottle design), but I can't find anything wrong with this rum, either. A solid choice if better-value rums (such as Plantation 3-Star or FdC 4) are unavailable. For the price, you should be getting something more interesting.

7-

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

This is a tough one to review. It's neither a sipping rum, nor an affordable mixer. It's mostly overpriced for what it is.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by 5KGMan from United States with 7 ratings

Crisp and clean. IT almost has a grassy aftertaste. I enjoyed it!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Keith Proud from United States with 11 ratings

Good sugar notes with a touch of lingering sweetness. Easy to drink and mixes well.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Doug witty from Canada with 3 ratings

Very light amber, pale in colour . Bottle doesn't say much about it, rum is smooth , not much bite with a distinct flavour. Easy to drink in a mixed drink but I wouldn't sip it straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

This is a very good drink, unfortunately, when I find it available, a bit overpriced IMHO.

Small 4u93db6v8yhz

Posted almost 5 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 130 ratings

I had such low expectations that I was blown away. Solid rum for most drinks. Straight up with a orange and sugar candy is a sweet summer drink.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Rumpelstiltskin from United States with 33 ratings

Not sweet enough to mix well with coke, not really tasty enough to sip and yet almost wasteful to make in a tropical drink/ mojito. Kinda like a rum without a purpose.