Posting your rating...
10 Cane Light rum

Romeo Light rum, a hybrid pot/column-distilled, Black Pearl Select molasses-based rum that’s bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report

Rate 10 Cane Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


87 10 Cane Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 5 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

Sometimes the time, place or stress of the day can define one's liking for a rum and this maybe the case for me. I thought 10 Cane in Diet Coke was sweet and easily consumed leading to a fun time for all.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

not a fan of light rums but this one does exeed my expectation

Posted about 5 years ago by Eanousa from United States with 54 ratings

Definitely not a sipper! It added a new layer of flavor to my Cuba Libra that was more developed than a Bacardi Gold, not sure if I could justify this as my mixer rum on a regular basis, will stick to my Don Q Crystal for that. My rating of 8 is based on it next to other mixing rums only!

Posted about 5 years ago by Surfyguitar from United States with 56 ratings

Rum of choice for Mojito at Royal Pacific Resort. Tasty but pricey.

Posted about 5 years ago by Cezary from United States with 20 ratings

the bottle and a steep price ($35 for a fifth) prepare you for something extraordinary. Unfortunately, I was disappointed. Light and smooth, but too simple, not enough depth. No mystique, no depth, no drama.

Posted about 5 years ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

It wasn't bad in Coke. I would not drink it straight, though.

Posted about 5 years ago by Juno from United States with 51 ratings

This is not a dark or white and has a very unique taste. Not sweet, firm on the tongue, and not all that smooth, but I still enjoy 10 Cane for an average Cuba Libre. The bottle is also unique.

Posted about 5 years ago by mistervee from United States with 10 ratings

This is an interesting blend of 90% agricole and 10% molasses rums. Good as a better quality mixing rum, perhaps a little too simple for a sipper.

Posted over 5 years ago by mamajuana from United States with 148 ratings

This review is for the Barbados bottling. This bottling is quite smooth overall. I did not detect much sweetness on this but rather just a clean rum experience. There are many better rums out there for flavor but this is a clean rum without many edges.

Posted over 5 years ago by Carl Saxmark from Sweden with 115 ratings

The nose is light and runs between ethanol and aceton with a hint of rum.
The taste is sugar and alcohol. Which finishes in raisins. It´s a fun sipping rum and i think it will make one hell of a mojito.

Posted over 5 years ago by TDR24 from United States with 3 ratings

You can certainly smell the sugar when you pop this one open. I like my rum on the rocks, granite rocks, so as not to dilute the taste. Not the best I've had, but not the worst for sure. I like it in place of desert - it's that sweet.

Posted over 5 years ago by Tutor from France with 19 ratings

Rhum équilibré, semble un peu trop sec au début mais la bouche s'y habitue pour devenir agréable. Arôme de vanille

Posted over 5 years ago by Thomas Prehn from Denmark with 1 rating

This rum is not expensive, so if I should take the price element into account I would actually give it 8.

I like the smooth taste with the hints of vanilla with a finish of sweet oak. Definitely a good non aged rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Chris from Canada with 21 ratings

find it ok for mixing. Will do in a pinch but why a premium for it at the bar?

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

I'd describe the flavor as smooth and similar to a very light Jamaican rum. I enjoyed this both straight and then in a rum and tonic. Have to agree with others that at full price it seems a bit pricy although I found a 200 ml. bottle on sale and gave it a try I was not disappointed. Would recommend for drinks when a light to moderate rum flavor is wanted.

Posted over 5 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

It's either, I was having a bad day or the 40% alcohol (80 proof) they write on the bottle is a misprint. From the looks of some of these other reviews, probably the latter is true. Anyway, I have had 10 Cane straight up, on the rocks, in a daiquiri, in a mojito and six ways to Sunday, but I always feel the same about it. Marketing won't make this rum taste better, only lime, simple syrup and ice.

Even though it's made by Moet Hennessy and they portray it in ads with Trinidadians hanging out on boats dancing to slow jams, it doesn't taste easy or fun. It could definitely be smoother, and more complex given the relationship. It's one of the few gold rums (of which I haven't had many, so I can't compare), but Trinidad has better rums. Do yourself a favor, and only buy this if you want to get tipsy on a rum in the $20 to $25 range; otherwise, buy a bottle of rhum from the French West Indies to get that cognac taste.

Posted over 5 years ago by jmp3 from United States with 88 ratings

Ok rum for mixing. Better choice than other over priced mas produced rum.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Daniel Park from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

But still enjoyable. Preferably mixed.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Felipe P from United States with 70 ratings

New recipe has made this Agricole undrinkable

Posted about 6 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

Good agricole nose and flavor. Awesome in the Between the Sheets cocktail.

Posted about 6 years ago by N Bishop from United States with 18 ratings

I could not drink it with cola or straight. Could definitely taste potential, just not among my common mixers. I suspect it would be best mixed with other alcohols and fruit juices as it seems to be missing something.

Posted about 6 years ago by Shane from United States with 26 ratings

Paid lots for this to be mixed with coke at an event in San Diego. It wasn't my favorite and I would not choose it unless it was aged. I would not consider this smooth by any means.

Posted about 6 years ago by Bill Gaylor from United States with 51 ratings

I dont like the color, and again I was left a little disappointed. But I did find its good in a Mai Tai or punch, or even with coke zero. Its a good bar drink. Just a bit over priced for what it delivers.

Posted over 6 years ago by larry johnson from United States with 26 ratings

bought made a couple of drinks its a good rum many other are better in the price range