Posting your rating...
10 Cane Light rum

10 Cane Light

Trinidad and Tobago | Light

Romeo Light rum, a hybrid pot/column-distilled, Black Pearl Select molasses-based rum that’s bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report

6.2/10
92 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
13
26
36
5
4
1

Rate 10 Cane Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

92 10 Cane Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

If the term "mild" is applicable to a rum 10 Cane would wear it best. Picked up a bottle of this in the Bahamas a couple of months ago on the "cruise from hell" thinking, in my uneducated way, that this would be something to bring back that you can't get where I live. I was right about all the other rums I purchased but quite wrong about this one. Every single liquor store locally had bottles of 10 Cane on the shelf. Oh well. However that will change since apparently it is no longer being made according to multiple online sources. So if you are a fan of this rum, enjoy it while you can.

Definitely a good mixer and works well in Coke Zero. Subtle sweetness...very subtle IMHO. No noticeable aroma. The rum's color is a light yellowish hue.

UPDATE: Since this is one of the first rums I reviewed over 6 months ago and since I have learned much since then I thought I'd take another taste to see if my opinion has changed.

Nope.

Still rating it a 7. Bit of sweetness on the outset with a noticeable oak tone to it. Not much of a burn but a nice warmth in the back of the throat. That oak tone lingers quite a bit but fading to a vanilla/toffee finish. I found out it not only is aged in oak barrels but it is made from pressed cane juice as opposed to molasses. However it is blended with molasses-based rum which might explain the initial sweet nature. Definitely a good mixing rum. This rum had the potential of being great but sadly it apparently is no longer being made.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rob from United States with 50 ratings

It did not taste sweetened. Nothing offensive. Average finish. Would mix just fine. Not enough of a flavor profile to drink neat. Probably hard to justify the cost for a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Mark Emmerson from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

I think this Rum is one of the best I've had there is a few very nice rums out there I think this is one of the best.
Very smooth, summery and light.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Austin from United States with 4 ratings

A nice cost effective mix to keep on the shelf. Shoot straight with a squirt of lime and you'll have a good time.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Made with cane juice, symbolic of Agricole rhums and cachaca's, though not what Trinidad rums are known for. I find this straw colored rhum to be a bit on the harsh side. When you think of Trinidad rums, you often associate it with the Angostura line or Zaya. However, Afrohead, Kraken, Monkey and Cane rum with Plantations inclusion as well.
I find that if you are looking for a rum from Trinidad and Tobago, the 10 Cane is not the best choice. Moreover, if your looking for Agricole rhum, Martinique is the way to go.
10 Cane has been discontinued, I believe which is why it is difficult to find anymore.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Whysoserious from Switzerland with 16 ratings

Till now this is my favourite white-rum - even if it got a light gold color. Its smooth and perfectly spiced.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Olivier from United Arab Emirates with 21 ratings

Surprenant et très agréable surprise. Un peu fort en alcool. Un peu d'aération lui fera du bien.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tony Lindo from Panama with 132 ratings

un ron de calidad en su elaboracion campesina me encanta para mezclar de sabor final en caña su elaboracion en barril frances le aporta su valor

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Matthew Brown from United States with 27 ratings

A weird cynical use of Moet's time. It's a fine rum but not serviceable in any other way than to exist. I feel an important duty to be crappy to this product.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 204 ratings

Wasn't particularly smooth even when mixed with cola. Had hoped for more.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 475 ratings

The best bottle of white style rum for me but still not me as I prefer dark and gold rum so that's quite a high score for a white rum for me .....