Posting your rating...
10 Cane Light rum

Romeo Light rum, a hybrid pot/column-distilled, Black Pearl Select molasses-based rum that’s bottled unaged at 90 proof.

via American Rum Report

Rate 10 Cane Light

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


87 10 Cane Light ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

It's either, I was having a bad day or the 40% alcohol (80 proof) they write on the bottle is a misprint. From the looks of some of these other reviews, probably the latter is true. Anyway, I have had 10 Cane straight up, on the rocks, in a daiquiri, in a mojito and six ways to Sunday, but I always feel the same about it. Marketing won't make this rum taste better, only lime, simple syrup and ice.

Even though it's made by Moet Hennessy and they portray it in ads with Trinidadians hanging out on boats dancing to slow jams, it doesn't taste easy or fun. It could definitely be smoother, and more complex given the relationship. It's one of the few gold rums (of which I haven't had many, so I can't compare), but Trinidad has better rums. Do yourself a favor, and only buy this if you want to get tipsy on a rum in the $20 to $25 range; otherwise, buy a bottle of rhum from the French West Indies to get that cognac taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Kieron wood from United Kingdom with 379 ratings

The best bottle of white style rum for me but still not me as I prefer dark and gold rum so that's quite a high score for a white rum for me .....

Posted over 3 years ago by XenoCorey from United States with 43 ratings

Definitely better than your run of the mill white rums, but I will take Beach Bar over this any day.

Posted over 3 years ago by Wayne Upton from United States with 136 ratings

But probably too expensive for what it is. Higher-end mixed drinks.

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Being a cane rum, I expected this to be more like rhum agricole—it's not. In fact, it's rather sweet. I'm not sure whether to use this as a light, gold, agricole, or sipping rum... it can do a bit of each, but for me it falls somewhere between a light and sweeter gold rum.

As others have mentioned, it's a bit pricey, but it's also challenging to find decent light rums at most liquor stores. It's not a big stand-out (aside from the bottle design), but I can't find anything wrong with this rum, either. A solid choice if better-value rums (such as Plantation 3-Star or FdC 4) are unavailable. For the price, you should be getting something more interesting.

7-

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

This is a tough one to review. It's neither a sipping rum, nor an affordable mixer. It's mostly overpriced for what it is.

Posted over 3 years ago by 5KGMan from United States with 7 ratings

Crisp and clean. IT almost has a grassy aftertaste. I enjoyed it!

Posted over 3 years ago by Keith Proud from United States with 11 ratings

Good sugar notes with a touch of lingering sweetness. Easy to drink and mixes well.

Posted over 3 years ago by Doug witty from Canada with 3 ratings

Very light amber, pale in colour . Bottle doesn't say much about it, rum is smooth , not much bite with a distinct flavour. Easy to drink in a mixed drink but I wouldn't sip it straight.

Posted over 3 years ago by HawsepiperMaster from United States with 16 ratings

This is a very good drink, unfortunately, when I find it available, a bit overpriced IMHO.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Anthony C from United States with 100 ratings

I had such low expectations that I was blown away. Solid rum for most drinks. Straight up with a orange and sugar candy is a sweet summer drink.

Posted about 4 years ago by Rumpelstiltskin from United States with 33 ratings

Not sweet enough to mix well with coke, not really tasty enough to sip and yet almost wasteful to make in a tropical drink/ mojito. Kinda like a rum without a purpose.

Posted about 4 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This is one of the better rums I enjoyed. But, I can't find it in NY anymore. Anyone know what happened?

Posted about 4 years ago by Vince from Canada with 57 ratings

À venir prochainement.............................

Posted about 4 years ago by Chris from United States with 12 ratings

This is my go to for Mojito's.On the rocks it's a bit stiff but till doable but, again, this is my Mojito Rum all the way!

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Nice rum, would recommend you drink it with a splash of coke. Neat it is a bit Harsh but the coke smooths it out nicely. Coke not Pepsi.... Very enjoyable...

Posted over 4 years ago by Rudy Mayers from Panama with 12 ratings

This rum is fantastic for a light rum. It used to be from trinidad and tobago but is made now in barbados and it became hard to find because of this reason. Love how smooth it is and it makes very nice mojitos enjoy!!

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Medium sweetness, very fresh taste but no complexity.

Posted over 4 years ago by Jesper Vejle Krog from Denmark with 66 ratings

Very good for mixing, a bit sharp for straight up. The 6 months ageing, in my book, does nothing for the taste.

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

If the term "mild" is applicable to a rum 10 Cane would wear it best. Picked up a bottle of this in the Bahamas a couple of months ago on the "cruise from hell" thinking, in my uneducated way, that this would be something to bring back that you can't get where I live. I was right about all the other rums I purchased but quite wrong about this one. Every single liquor store locally had bottles of 10 Cane on the shelf. Oh well. However that will change since apparently it is no longer being made according to multiple online sources. So if you are a fan of this rum, enjoy it while you can.

Definitely a good mixer and works well in Coke Zero. Subtle sweetness...very subtle IMHO. No noticeable aroma. The rum's color is a light yellowish hue.

UPDATE: Since this is one of the first rums I reviewed over 6 months ago and since I have learned much since then I thought I'd take another taste to see if my opinion has changed.

Nope.

Still rating it a 7. Bit of sweetness on the outset with a noticeable oak tone to it. Not much of a burn but a nice warmth in the back of the throat. That oak tone lingers quite a bit but fading to a vanilla/toffee finish. I found out it not only is aged in oak barrels but it is made from pressed cane juice as opposed to molasses. However it is blended with molasses-based rum which might explain the initial sweet nature. Definitely a good mixing rum. This rum had the potential of being great but sadly it apparently is no longer being made.

Posted over 4 years ago by JAStark from United States with 11 ratings

Light and that was the primary issue. Good but not great.

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

Tastes like a good but not too light French rhum agricole blanc. The problem: You will get good VSOP at this price point.

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

This is an incredibly simple review because there is nothing complicated about this one. It smells like alcohol, vanilla and faint oak. That's about as basic white rum it gets. Tastes like.... basic white rum, vanilla and alcohol with some hint of oak on the plus of this is there is no bite with this one. It's as simple as it gets, however the 29$ a fifth price turns me away from this. I will stick to Appleton estate white which is about 10$ a fifth and identical to this.

Posted almost 5 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Slightly grassy almost agricole style rum.

Interesting more than brilliant

Posted about 5 years ago by tang from United States with 10 ratings

I had some straight up, but I imagine it'd be very good in, say, a mojito or something.